Sponsored Links
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60
  1. #1
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Textbooks and review books

    Advertisements



    Been getting a lot of requests about textbooks so I put this together. Here is a list of textbooks and review books I have been using since first semester. A few of them (biochemistry, histology, pharmacology, behavior science) are the school recommended books and the rest are alternatives I found to be more readable, intuitive and by far superior in helping to understand the material.
    Its important to be familiar with what you are required to know for the Step and this is the purpose of the review books, they also help you in understanding the respective courses. They are not necessarily a primary source but a great supplemental or quick review before tests. The Review books are in green.All books can be found on amazon.com.

    Fist Semester


    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas, BRS Anatomy
    Physiology I - Human Physiology by Linda Costanzo, BRS Physiology
    Embryology Medical Embryology by Sadler, or Before We are Born by Persaud and Moore (my favorite), High Yield Embryology



    Second Semester


    Anatomy I I - same for Anatomy I
    Physiology I I - same for Physiology I
    Histology - Basic Histology by Luiz Junqueira
    Biochemistry - Lippincotts Illustrated Biochemistry


    Third Semester


    Pathology I - Robins Pathology (Medium not the big one!), Rapid Review Pathology
    Neuroanatomy - Course Handouts, High Yield Neuroanatomy
    Microbiology & Immunology - Lange Microbiology&Immunology by Levinson, Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple
    Community Medicine - Course Handouts


    Fourth Semester


    Pathology I I - same for Pathology I
    Pharmacology - Lippincotts Illustrated Pharmacology
    Behavior Science Course Handouts, BRS Behavior Science

    Fifth Semester

    Kaplan Lecture Notes (available on ebay any version from 2007 is fine)
    Kaplan Videos (get a hard drive and ask a classmate or upper classman)
    First Aid for USMLE Step I
    Bates Guide to Physical Exam & History Taking
    Last edited by McNasty; 03-05-2011 at 11:58 AM.
    4th Year

  2. #2
    MDIN2009's Avatar
    MDIN2009 is offline Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Any where they let me...
    Posts
    2,067
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0
    Blog Entries
    1
    Images
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    NICE Work!
    Moderator WUSOM

    A. Please read the "stickies" before asking a question.
    B. Remember the Hidden Content



  3. #3
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    been getting pms about books so..... bump
    4th Year

  4. #4
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This is definitely sticky material. Thanks McNasty.

  5. #5
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey question, I searched amazon.com for human physio by linda costanzo and all i found was the BRS book. Is there another one?

  6. #6
    deepr is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    85
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Amazon.com: Physiology Third Edition With **************.com Access (9781416023203): Linda Costanzo: Books

    I think this is the one he is referring to. This is the text I used for class and for reference during boards study and it is GREAT!! There is a new edition coming out very soon (amazon won't say when), but I think this edition should be good.

    BRS Physio is amazing as well. It is probably one of the best BRS out there...

  7. #7
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deepr View Post
    Amazon.com: Physiology Third Edition With **************.com Access (9781416023203): Linda Costanzo: Books

    I think this is the one he is referring to. This is the text I used for class and for reference during boards study and it is GREAT!! There is a new edition coming out very soon (amazon won't say when), but I think this edition should be good.

    BRS Physio is amazing as well. It is probably one of the best BRS out there...
    Excellent. Thanks alot.

  8. #8
    GOLFER is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    162
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas

    Is this the same as "Essential Clinical Anatormy" by Keith L. Moore and Anne M Agur.

  9. #9
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GOLFER View Post
    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas

    Is this the same as "Essential Clinical Anatormy" by Keith L. Moore and Anne M Agur.
    Amazon.com: Essential Clinical Anatomy (Moore, Essential Clinical Anatomy) (9780781799157): Keith L Moore, Anne M Agur, Arthur F Dalley: Books

    and this is the atlas Amazon.com: Atlas of Human Anatomy (9780808923848): Frank H. Netter: Books

    a newer one came out recently so if you want get that although it should matter which edition i used the old edition and its perfectly fine amazon.com/Clinically-Oriented-Anatomy-Sixth-Softcover/dp/0781775256/ref=dp_ob_title_bk
    Last edited by McNasty; 12-09-2009 at 02:27 PM.
    4th Year

  10. #10
    GOLFER is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    162
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by McNasty View Post
    Amazon.com: Essential Clinical Anatomy (Moore, Essential Clinical Anatomy) (9780781799157): Keith L Moore, Anne M Agur, Arthur F Dalley: Books

    and this is the atlas Amazon.com: Atlas of Human Anatomy (9780808923848): Frank H. Netter: Books

    a newer one came out recently so if you want get that although it should matter which edition i used the old edition and its perfectly fine amazon.com/Clinically-Oriented-Anatomy-Sixth-Softcover/dp/0781775256/ref=dp_ob_title_bk

    Thanks. Did you use Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy much?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unloading some books: USMLE review and textbooks
    By VanessaWI in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 07:35 AM
  2. Best method of getting Cheap Review & Textbooks
    By nshahstuff in forum USMLE Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 10:27 AM
  3. Step 1 Textbooks and Review Books Sale Miami
    By Jackson45 in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM
  4. review books vs. textbooks
    By cooli in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •