Sponsored Links
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 51 to 60 of 60
  1. #1
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Textbooks and review books

    Been getting a lot of requests about textbooks so I put this together. Here is a list of textbooks and review books I have been using since first semester. A few of them (biochemistry, histology, pharmacology, behavior science) are the school recommended books and the rest are alternatives I found to be more readable, intuitive and by far superior in helping to understand the material.
    Its important to be familiar with what you are required to know for the Step and this is the purpose of the review books, they also help you in understanding the respective courses. They are not necessarily a primary source but a great supplemental or quick review before tests. The Review books are in green.All books can be found on amazon.com.

    Fist Semester


    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas, BRS Anatomy
    Physiology I - Human Physiology by Linda Costanzo, BRS Physiology
    Embryology Medical Embryology by Sadler, or Before We are Born by Persaud and Moore (my favorite), High Yield Embryology



    Second Semester


    Anatomy I I - same for Anatomy I
    Physiology I I - same for Physiology I
    Histology - Basic Histology by Luiz Junqueira
    Biochemistry - Lippincotts Illustrated Biochemistry


    Third Semester


    Pathology I - Robins Pathology (Medium not the big one!), Rapid Review Pathology
    Neuroanatomy - Course Handouts, High Yield Neuroanatomy
    Microbiology & Immunology - Lange Microbiology&Immunology by Levinson, Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple
    Community Medicine - Course Handouts


    Fourth Semester


    Pathology I I - same for Pathology I
    Pharmacology - Lippincotts Illustrated Pharmacology
    Behavior Science Course Handouts, BRS Behavior Science

    Fifth Semester

    Kaplan Lecture Notes (available on ebay any version from 2007 is fine)
    Kaplan Videos (get a hard drive and ask a classmate or upper classman)
    First Aid for USMLE Step I
    Bates Guide to Physical Exam & History Taking
    Last edited by McNasty; 03-05-2011 at 11:58 AM.
    4th Year

  2. #51
    Rosi2 is offline Member 526 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    108
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Advertisements



    A tip: Dont buy these books from Amazon, searched used book sites, you will save a few hundred dollars this way.

  3. #52
    MerlinDoc85 is offline Member 672 points
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    476
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ..................
    Last edited by MerlinDoc85; 01-09-2012 at 11:14 PM.

  4. #53
    cardiomegaly is offline Senior Member 547 points
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Closer to east coast then the west coast
    Posts
    583
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    By the way the BRS physiology and rapid review pathology are priceless. The rapid review pathology almost matches the notes from the Goljan review perfectly
    Medicine is my lifeHidden Content . Step 1 [Hidden Content ] Step 2 CK [Hidden Content ] Step 2 CS [Hidden Content

  5. #54
    Aw.somaya is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    34
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MerlinDoc85 View Post
    i have a set of books for anybody who wants. PM me.


    Heyy my name is somaya and i was wondering if you have pdf versions of any books...please i really need them. Thanks

  6. #55
    Coonius is offline Member 663 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    447
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rosi2 View Post
    A tip: Dont buy these books from Amazon, searched used book sites, you will save a few hundred dollars this way.
    Amazon has a used book section as well. That's where I bought most of my review books from for about $15 each. Normal prices were $40 and above.

    Just look around. But Amazon isn't strictly new stuff.

  7. #56
    Rosi2 is offline Member 526 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    108
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The amazon market is okay for those really hard books to find used, however I find that if you go on websites specific for used books your better off. I spent 15 dollars for all of my MD2 books combined (the only catch was the 10 dollar shipping).

  8. #57
    cardiomegaly is offline Senior Member 547 points
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Closer to east coast then the west coast
    Posts
    583
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    addall dot com and allbookstores dot com are great websites to get books from just get the isbn # to get the books.
    Medicine is my lifeHidden Content . Step 1 [Hidden Content ] Step 2 CK [Hidden Content ] Step 2 CS [Hidden Content

  9. #58
    Romca is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    12
    Downloads
    126
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I heard that Washington Manual is a must....
    did anyone hear about this source?

    Any way to get HY online and print them out?

  10. #59
    PnS11 is offline Senior Member 6123 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    rub my tattays
    Posts
    902
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    no, on the washington manual. not sure about the high yield stuff. you can find it very cheap on amazon in the used books section. that may be a better bet.

  11. #60
    megadave_05 is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    20
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Definitely check out Amazon or half dot com ! or even ebay! for books!

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Similar Threads

  1. Unloading some books: USMLE review and textbooks
    By VanessaWI in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 07:35 AM
  2. Best method of getting Cheap Review & Textbooks
    By nshahstuff in forum USMLE Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 10:27 AM
  3. Step 1 Textbooks and Review Books Sale Miami
    By Jackson45 in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM
  4. review books vs. textbooks
    By cooli in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •