Sponsored Links
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 60
  1. #1
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Textbooks and review books

    Been getting a lot of requests about textbooks so I put this together. Here is a list of textbooks and review books I have been using since first semester. A few of them (biochemistry, histology, pharmacology, behavior science) are the school recommended books and the rest are alternatives I found to be more readable, intuitive and by far superior in helping to understand the material.
    Its important to be familiar with what you are required to know for the Step and this is the purpose of the review books, they also help you in understanding the respective courses. They are not necessarily a primary source but a great supplemental or quick review before tests. The Review books are in green.All books can be found on amazon.com.

    Fist Semester


    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas, BRS Anatomy
    Physiology I - Human Physiology by Linda Costanzo, BRS Physiology
    Embryology Medical Embryology by Sadler, or Before We are Born by Persaud and Moore (my favorite), High Yield Embryology



    Second Semester


    Anatomy I I - same for Anatomy I
    Physiology I I - same for Physiology I
    Histology - Basic Histology by Luiz Junqueira
    Biochemistry - Lippincotts Illustrated Biochemistry


    Third Semester


    Pathology I - Robins Pathology (Medium not the big one!), Rapid Review Pathology
    Neuroanatomy - Course Handouts, High Yield Neuroanatomy
    Microbiology & Immunology - Lange Microbiology&Immunology by Levinson, Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple
    Community Medicine - Course Handouts


    Fourth Semester


    Pathology I I - same for Pathology I
    Pharmacology - Lippincotts Illustrated Pharmacology
    Behavior Science Course Handouts, BRS Behavior Science

    Fifth Semester

    Kaplan Lecture Notes (available on ebay any version from 2007 is fine)
    Kaplan Videos (get a hard drive and ask a classmate or upper classman)
    First Aid for USMLE Step I
    Bates Guide to Physical Exam & History Taking
    Last edited by McNasty; 03-05-2011 at 11:58 AM.
    4th Year

  2. #41
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Advertisements



    The power outtages aren't crazy. I haven't been on the island in almost a semester, but you can plan on one at least once a week or two. Generally for a few hours at the most. I definitely recommend bringing an extra laptop battery. The school's books are decent. But a lot of people didn't use most of them, myself included. For MD1 the school gives you Snell's clinically oriented anatomy, Inderbir Singh's Embryology, and a random book for physiology (I can't even remember the name of it, but it's almost like a pathology, biochem, histology, physio all mixed into one). The books I used were Gray's Anatomy and BRS anatomy, Costanza's Physiology and BRS physiology, and the school's book for embryology. That combination of books worked well for me. I know kids who liked the school books and some who didn't. It's all personal preference.

  3. #42
    Coonius is offline Member 663 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    447
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ^^ I think the physiology book you're talking about is Ganong's Medical Physiology. I have the book and it is definitely a tough read.

    I did not realize Costanzo not only wrote a textbook, but also did the BRS. I was just aware of the BRS book she wrote. I also have Snell's book. It's not too bad, but I definitely plan on renting the texts from the school and using pdf scans for Gray's and other books people suggest are "better" than the school-issued books. In addition to this, I plan on bringing the BRS books for gross anatomy, embryology (which I think is combined with a few other subjects), and the physiology on (which I don't have yet). I figured I'd just buy them on Amazon used from those private sellers and save some money.

    For the BRS Physiology, does it matter what edition I get?
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss...brs+physiology

    The price difference between the 2006 and the 2010 edition is huge. But what about the content?

  4. #43
    glumdalclitch is offline Newbie 511 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    17
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    just purchased the following for MD1 starting this sept.:


    Physiology
    Physiology Third Edition With **************.com Access - Linda Costanzo;
    BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) - Linda S. Costanzo;

    Embryology
    High-Yield™ Embryology (High-Yield Series) - Ronald W. Dudek;
    Before We Are Born : Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects,(5th Edition) - Keith L. Moore MSc PhD FIAC FRSM FAAA;

    Anatomy
    BRS Gross Anatomy (Board Review Series) - Harold M Chung;
    Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access (Netter Basic Science) - Frank H. Netter MD;
    Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition - Keith L. Moore MSc PhD FIAC FRSM FAAA;

    Also picked up a copy of First Aid for the USMLE Step 1, 2010 (First Aid USMLE) - *** **;
    I've read that the 2011 and 2010 versions are virtually the same...

    Please lemme know if you have any other suggestions/ recommendations! Thanks
    Last edited by glumdalclitch; 07-27-2011 at 11:24 AM.

  5. #44
    Coonius is offline Member 663 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    447
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by glumdalclitch View Post
    just purchased the following for MD1 starting this sept.:


    Physiology
    Physiology Third Edition With **************.com Access - Linda Costanzo;
    BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) - Linda S. Costanzo;

    Embryology
    High-Yield™ Embryology (High-Yield Series) - Ronald W. Dudek;
    Before We Are Born : Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects,(5th Edition) - Keith L. Moore MSc PhD FIAC FRSM FAAA;

    Anatomy
    BRS Gross Anatomy (Board Review Series) - Harold M Chung;
    Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access (Netter Basic Science) - Frank H. Netter MD;
    Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition - Keith L. Moore MSc PhD FIAC FRSM FAAA;

    Also picked up a copy of First Aid for the USMLE Step 1, 2010 (First Aid USMLE) - *** **;
    I've read that the 2011 and 2010 versions are virtually the same...

    Please lemme know if you have any other suggestions/ recommendations! Thanks
    Whatever is bolded is what I recently ordered as well. My dad is a big advocate of the Pre Test books, however, I did not ask on here what their thoughts were on it.

    Here's an example of an anatomy one: Amazon.com: Anatomy, Histology, & Cell Biology: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review, Fourth Edition (PreTest Basic Science) (9780071623438): Robert Klein, George Enders: Books

    I have the neuro, micro, and biochem ones of it as well. Not to be used right now, though. I think more for the Step. Unless someone on here has other ideas.

    The Board Review Series (BRS) seem to be the ones a lot of people advocate, as well as the High-Yield series too. Having too many books, I feel, might get us in way over our heads too.

  6. #45
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Pretest are decent and good for focused subjectwise questions, do them along your courses, the more questions the better, doing questions never hurt
    4th Year

  7. #46
    houmd's Avatar
    houmd is offline Elite Member 7229 points
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,510
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    gotta agree with mcnasty, I am a strong proponenet of PreTest, especially for physiology

  8. #47
    Coonius is offline Member 663 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    447
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by houmd View Post
    gotta agree with mcnasty, I am a strong proponenet of PreTest, especially for physiology
    It's at these times I regret not listening to my dad about many other things earlier in life.

  9. #48
    Aw.somaya is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    34
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Heyy...ok soo all these textbooks are available on Amazon. Did you all buy them before getting to the island?

    Thanks
    Somaya

  10. #49
    angelprincess818 is offline Junior Member 513 points
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    can i order the books from amazon when i get to the island because i don't want to carry textbooks in my luggage....do we have to pay taxes when ordering from amazon. Does the school sell the books or is it just for rent

  11. #50
    houmd's Avatar
    houmd is offline Elite Member 7229 points
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,510
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    its MUCH easier to just take them with you in your luggage. There is no taxes on textbooks, only new electronics etc

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unloading some books: USMLE review and textbooks
    By VanessaWI in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 07:35 AM
  2. Best method of getting Cheap Review & Textbooks
    By nshahstuff in forum USMLE Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 10:27 AM
  3. Step 1 Textbooks and Review Books Sale Miami
    By Jackson45 in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM
  4. review books vs. textbooks
    By cooli in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •