Sponsored Links
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 60
  1. #1
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Textbooks and review books

    Been getting a lot of requests about textbooks so I put this together. Here is a list of textbooks and review books I have been using since first semester. A few of them (biochemistry, histology, pharmacology, behavior science) are the school recommended books and the rest are alternatives I found to be more readable, intuitive and by far superior in helping to understand the material.
    Its important to be familiar with what you are required to know for the Step and this is the purpose of the review books, they also help you in understanding the respective courses. They are not necessarily a primary source but a great supplemental or quick review before tests. The Review books are in green.All books can be found on amazon.com.

    Fist Semester


    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas, BRS Anatomy
    Physiology I - Human Physiology by Linda Costanzo, BRS Physiology
    Embryology Medical Embryology by Sadler, or Before We are Born by Persaud and Moore (my favorite), High Yield Embryology



    Second Semester


    Anatomy I I - same for Anatomy I
    Physiology I I - same for Physiology I
    Histology - Basic Histology by Luiz Junqueira
    Biochemistry - Lippincotts Illustrated Biochemistry


    Third Semester


    Pathology I - Robins Pathology (Medium not the big one!), Rapid Review Pathology
    Neuroanatomy - Course Handouts, High Yield Neuroanatomy
    Microbiology & Immunology - Lange Microbiology&Immunology by Levinson, Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple
    Community Medicine - Course Handouts


    Fourth Semester


    Pathology I I - same for Pathology I
    Pharmacology - Lippincotts Illustrated Pharmacology
    Behavior Science Course Handouts, BRS Behavior Science

    Fifth Semester

    Kaplan Lecture Notes (available on ebay any version from 2007 is fine)
    Kaplan Videos (get a hard drive and ask a classmate or upper classman)
    First Aid for USMLE Step I
    Bates Guide to Physical Exam & History Taking
    Last edited by McNasty; 03-05-2011 at 11:58 AM.
    4th Year

  2. #31
    soniaa's Avatar
    soniaa is offline Senior Member 689 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    839
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Advertisements



    I just all to bring with you a First AID book and start reading/memorizing the material from the day you get accepted

  3. #32
    melloyello is offline Junior Member 512 points
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    35
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SWOLL68 View Post
    Class list:

    MD1- Anatomy I, Physiology I, and Embryology

    MD2- Biochemistry, Anatomy II, Physiology II, and Histology

    MD3- Pathology I, Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Community Medicine

    MD4- Pathology II, Pharmacology, Behavioral Sciences, and Seminars.
    Hi,

    According to windsors website under the curriculum section it says the classes for MD1 are:
    Biochemistry
    Medical Cell Biology
    Gross Anatomy I Embryology Genetics
    1. Is the website correct that we actually have Biochemistry 1st semester?

    2. I don't see any textbook listed for genetics, do we not need one for that class?

    Thanks for clearing this up.

  4. #33
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by melloyello View Post
    Hi,

    According to windsors website under the curriculum section it says the classes for MD1 are:
    Biochemistry
    Medical Cell Biology
    Gross Anatomy I Embryology Genetics
    1. Is the website correct that we actually have Biochemistry 1st semester?

    2. I don't see any textbook listed for genetics, do we not need one for that class?

    Thanks for clearing this up.
    SWOLLs post is accurate, biochem is in second trimester
    4th Year

  5. #34
    houmd's Avatar
    houmd is offline Elite Member 7229 points
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,510
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    bump, I just used this again.....

    [EDIT] Also Genetics is kinda weird in that it is combined in with Biochem & Embryo so no book is needed.

  6. #35
    melloyello is offline Junior Member 512 points
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    35
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think mods should sticky this thread!

    I think I speak for all current and prospective students in that this thread will come in handy at the start of every semester.

  7. #36
    Coonius is offline Member 663 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    447
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I agree. Sticky this thing. I was just referred here and all my questions were answered. I now know better what to bring with me to the island. I would have been pissed had I read this once I got to the island.

  8. #37
    rishank is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    is there anyone selling used books for Med 1?

  9. #38
    -pineapple- is offline Newbie 511 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    19
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If we have .PDF versions of all the books, is it still advisable to buy the hard copy of the book or will the borrowed copy from library suffice?

  10. #39
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I definitely recommend putting the deposit down on the books the school gives you. And if you feel you can study from a pdf, then there's no reason to buy supplemental books. Me personally though, I like having the hard copy in front of me and can't read for extended periods of time from a computer screen. But that's just me.

  11. #40
    -pineapple- is offline Newbie 511 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    19
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ^Thank You! Are there enough books for everyone? And, I understand I wont be able to use a hi-lighter on borrowed books, but, without the books, my luggage would be lighter. Also, heard about frequent power outtages, at such times, PDF's would be basically worthless I guess I'll just buy them, they'll prove to be helpful for brushing up on basics during USMLE review sessions,too, right?

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unloading some books: USMLE review and textbooks
    By VanessaWI in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 07:35 AM
  2. Best method of getting Cheap Review & Textbooks
    By nshahstuff in forum USMLE Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 10:27 AM
  3. Step 1 Textbooks and Review Books Sale Miami
    By Jackson45 in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM
  4. review books vs. textbooks
    By cooli in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •