Sponsored Links
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 60
  1. #1
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Textbooks and review books

    Been getting a lot of requests about textbooks so I put this together. Here is a list of textbooks and review books I have been using since first semester. A few of them (biochemistry, histology, pharmacology, behavior science) are the school recommended books and the rest are alternatives I found to be more readable, intuitive and by far superior in helping to understand the material.
    Its important to be familiar with what you are required to know for the Step and this is the purpose of the review books, they also help you in understanding the respective courses. They are not necessarily a primary source but a great supplemental or quick review before tests. The Review books are in green.All books can be found on amazon.com.

    Fist Semester


    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas, BRS Anatomy
    Physiology I - Human Physiology by Linda Costanzo, BRS Physiology
    Embryology Medical Embryology by Sadler, or Before We are Born by Persaud and Moore (my favorite), High Yield Embryology



    Second Semester


    Anatomy I I - same for Anatomy I
    Physiology I I - same for Physiology I
    Histology - Basic Histology by Luiz Junqueira
    Biochemistry - Lippincotts Illustrated Biochemistry


    Third Semester


    Pathology I - Robins Pathology (Medium not the big one!), Rapid Review Pathology
    Neuroanatomy - Course Handouts, High Yield Neuroanatomy
    Microbiology & Immunology - Lange Microbiology&Immunology by Levinson, Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple
    Community Medicine - Course Handouts


    Fourth Semester


    Pathology I I - same for Pathology I
    Pharmacology - Lippincotts Illustrated Pharmacology
    Behavior Science Course Handouts, BRS Behavior Science

    Fifth Semester

    Kaplan Lecture Notes (available on ebay any version from 2007 is fine)
    Kaplan Videos (get a hard drive and ask a classmate or upper classman)
    First Aid for USMLE Step I
    Bates Guide to Physical Exam & History Taking
    Last edited by McNasty; 03-05-2011 at 11:58 AM.
    4th Year

  2. #21
    rasberry is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    71
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Advertisements



    hey .. thanks for the info me.no.doc

    Do you have any pdf files you could email me? If you, pls pm me.
    "A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein

  3. #22
    hypertension is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hey guys, i was sitting down to order my books off amazon but realized there is still a few i need to pick from. i know ive messaged earlier as well. but just to confirm , what books are majority of you buying ?

  4. #23
    hypertension is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    and also... we do have biochemistry first sem starting sept 2010 right ?? so anyone buying any books for that ?

  5. #24
    Born2BMD is offline Junior Member 511 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    89
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not sure if things changed, but BIOCHEM was usually 2nd semester

  6. #25
    rasberry is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    71
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I thought we don't have biochem the first semester. I didn't get any books for that. Can anyone confirm?
    "A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein

  7. #26
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rasberry View Post
    I thought we don't have biochem the first semester. I didn't get any books for that. Can anyone confirm?
    Class list:

    MD1- Anatomy I, Physiology I, and Embryology

    MD2- Biochemistry, Anatomy II, Physiology II, and Histology

    MD3- Pathology I, Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Community Medicine

    MD4- Pathology II, Pharmacology, Behavioral Sciences, and Seminars.

  8. #27
    rasberry is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    71
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks SWOLL
    "A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein

  9. #28
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Megha1990 View Post
    hey guys, i was sitting down to order my books off amazon but realized there is still a few i need to pick from. i know ive messaged earlier as well. but just to confirm , what books are majority of you buying ?
    For MD1 I bought BRS physio and anatomy, and I brought down my Gray's Anatomy book. I also used PDF Guyton Physiology and Costanza Physiology.

  10. #29
    houmd's Avatar
    houmd is offline Elite Member 7229 points
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,510
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    could we possibly make this a sticky?

  11. #30
    melloyello is offline Junior Member 512 points
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    35
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    wow great thread, thanks guys

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unloading some books: USMLE review and textbooks
    By VanessaWI in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 07:35 AM
  2. Best method of getting Cheap Review & Textbooks
    By nshahstuff in forum USMLE Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 10:27 AM
  3. Step 1 Textbooks and Review Books Sale Miami
    By Jackson45 in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM
  4. review books vs. textbooks
    By cooli in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •