Sponsored Links
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 60
  1. #1
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Textbooks and review books

    Been getting a lot of requests about textbooks so I put this together. Here is a list of textbooks and review books I have been using since first semester. A few of them (biochemistry, histology, pharmacology, behavior science) are the school recommended books and the rest are alternatives I found to be more readable, intuitive and by far superior in helping to understand the material.
    Its important to be familiar with what you are required to know for the Step and this is the purpose of the review books, they also help you in understanding the respective courses. They are not necessarily a primary source but a great supplemental or quick review before tests. The Review books are in green.All books can be found on amazon.com.

    Fist Semester


    Anatomy I - Clinical Anatomy by Keith Moore, Netters Atlas, BRS Anatomy
    Physiology I - Human Physiology by Linda Costanzo, BRS Physiology
    Embryology Medical Embryology by Sadler, or Before We are Born by Persaud and Moore (my favorite), High Yield Embryology



    Second Semester


    Anatomy I I - same for Anatomy I
    Physiology I I - same for Physiology I
    Histology - Basic Histology by Luiz Junqueira
    Biochemistry - Lippincotts Illustrated Biochemistry


    Third Semester


    Pathology I - Robins Pathology (Medium not the big one!), Rapid Review Pathology
    Neuroanatomy - Course Handouts, High Yield Neuroanatomy
    Microbiology & Immunology - Lange Microbiology&Immunology by Levinson, Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple
    Community Medicine - Course Handouts


    Fourth Semester


    Pathology I I - same for Pathology I
    Pharmacology - Lippincotts Illustrated Pharmacology
    Behavior Science Course Handouts, BRS Behavior Science

    Fifth Semester

    Kaplan Lecture Notes (available on ebay any version from 2007 is fine)
    Kaplan Videos (get a hard drive and ask a classmate or upper classman)
    First Aid for USMLE Step I
    Bates Guide to Physical Exam & History Taking
    Last edited by McNasty; 03-05-2011 at 11:58 AM.
    4th Year

  2. #11
    GOLFER is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    162
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Advertisements



    another question: In my acceptance package under 'Books and instrument list' it says that we need Ganong's Text book of physiology. There was no mention of it in the post. Is this book not used by the profs anymore?

  3. #12
    McNasty's Avatar
    McNasty is offline Senior Member 676 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pole Position
    Posts
    540
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GOLFER View Post
    another question: In my acceptance package under 'Books and instrument list' it says that we need Ganong's Text book of physiology. There was no mention of it in the post. Is this book not used by the profs anymore?
    that is the school recommended physio book but i and a lot of my classmates found costanzo physio a lot better than ganong
    4th Year

  4. #13
    GOLFER is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    162
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by McNasty View Post
    that is the school recommended physio book but i and a lot of my classmates found costanzo physio a lot better than ganong
    Thanks McNasty.

  5. #14
    Allthaticanbe is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    St. Kitts
    Posts
    647
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Bumping this for May2010 students
    'We need to be the authors of our own life.' Peter Senge

  6. #15
    nelly is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    36
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    you need Goljan for pathology in MD 3 & 4
    You need Microbiology Made ridic. simple for pharm
    You need Guyton for Physio 1 & 2 for Physio
    Kaplan MedEssentials is very useful for all classes
    for Neuro- Neuroanatomy made ridic. simple
    I had these books along with the ones he suggested, and Using the netters was super helpful!!! I also purchased BRS flash cards for Pharm, and for Pathology there are Robbins flash cards out now.
    Last edited by nelly; 02-19-2010 at 07:38 PM. Reason: another book

  7. #16
    rasberry is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    71
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hey guys.. after doing lots of research and asking people (for my MD 1 semester starting in Sept) here's what I have come up with:

    FOR MD 1 only (Note: the ones in red are books recommended by students)

    Anatomy Class:
    - Essential Clinical Anatomy by Keith L.Moore
    (4th edn) ISBN: 0781799133
    (3rd edn) ISBN: 078176274X

    - Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Keith L.Moore, Agur and Dalley
    (6th edn) ISBN: 0781775256
    (5th edn) ISBN: 0781736390

    - Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
    (5th edn) ISBN: 1416059512
    (4th edn) ISBN: 1416033858 or 1416036997

    - Netter's Clinical Anatomy by John T.Hansen
    (2nd edn) ISBN: 1437702724
    (1st edn) ISBN: 192900771x

    - Gross Anatomy BRS by Chung
    (6th edn) ISBN: 0781771749
    (5th edn) ISBN: 0781753090


    Physiology Class:

    - Physiology BRS by Linda S. Costanzo
    (5th edn) ISBN:0781798760
    (4th edn) ISBN:0781773113

    - Physiology by Linda S. Costanzo
    (4th edn) ISBN:1416062165
    (3rd edn) ISBN:0781788714

    - Guyton & Hall's Textbook of Medical Physiology
    (12th edn) ISBN:1416045740
    (11th edn) ISBN: 0721602401


    Embryology Class:

    - Langman's Medical Embryology
    (11th edn) ISBN: 07817906997
    (10th edn) ISBN:0781794854

    - also.. the other texts the school provides are great resources as per other students!


    --- hope it helps! Btw thanks to all those who have posted before me. Your information helped me a lot
    "A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein

  8. #17
    hypertension is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RASPBERRY.... the info is really helpful but i have a quick question... do we need ALL of these books or just pik one for each course ???

  9. #18
    rasberry is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    71
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    MEGHA,
    Good question! To tell you the truth.. I guess it depends on the person. I mean you can either stick with what the school provides you, but keep in mind you'll have to return it after the semester is over. OR.. you could buy your own copies esp the ones that are recommended above so that you can study from them after (esp when prepping for the USMLE). Hmm.. I guess it's upto you.
    "A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein

  10. #19
    SWOLL68's Avatar
    SWOLL68 is offline Senior Member 7166 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,114
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Megha1990 View Post
    RASPBERRY.... the info is really helpful but i have a quick question... do we need ALL of these books or just pik one for each course ???
    It's subjective to each person really. I definitely wouldn't buy all of them. That's just a huge waste. And when you're studying from 4 books at the same time you're just going to be overwhelmed. For MD1 I recommend BRS physio and anatomy (maybe the embryology too, it can't hurt to have it but won't really help you right now), Physiology by Linda Costanza (the physio BRS is written by the same woman, but this one is a much more detailed version), and I even brought down a Gray's Anatomy because I personally didn't like the Snell book the school gave us. But Snell will suffice.

    Remember, you can always find a PDF or CHM file for any book you need. So going out and spending the 30-40 bucks a book isn't necessarily worth it.

  11. #20
    me.no-doc is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    34
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    those text books

    you can save money for using ebooks instead of hard copy

    you need to register to log in at this site

    http://gigapedia.com/browse:categories

    don't need registration but will help
    http://gigapedia.com/browse:categories

    just search thru any of the engines of all three sites
    no registration
    Rapidshare Files Search and Megaupload Links Download.

    good luck to all of ya future docs


Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unloading some books: USMLE review and textbooks
    By VanessaWI in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 07:35 AM
  2. Best method of getting Cheap Review & Textbooks
    By nshahstuff in forum USMLE Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 10:27 AM
  3. Step 1 Textbooks and Review Books Sale Miami
    By Jackson45 in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM
  4. review books vs. textbooks
    By cooli in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •