Sponsored Links
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree9Likes
  • 5 Post By jackets5
  • 1 Post By mulberry
  • 3 Post By jackets5

Thread: My UMHS review

  1. #1
    jackets5 is offline Senior Member 682 points
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,083
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    My UMHS review

    Advertisements



    Now that all the excitement of match is over, i felt it would be good for future clinical students and students considering UMHS have a brief overview and my impressions of the school. First, I can offer NO review of the basic science portion of the school since i was a transfer into semester 5 in Maine.

    1) Maine Program: Thought the Maine semester was both good and bad. It provided a very valuable introduction to some of the bread and butter medical conditions and started to build a foundation of how to think through clinical scenarios. Learning valuable physical exam skills that as Caribbean students we are lacking compared to US students at the start of the third year. Program was run very well by Dr. P. Kaplan review didnt really care for it, outside of the path guy (who was excellent and now is doing Pathoma) didnt find it helpful and it simply went on and on. The Clinical shadowing was hit or miss depending on where you went, some liked it, some didnt, for me it was average. I have heard that there have been changes since i was there and that is good.

    2) Clinicals: I was placed into clinical rotations within 3 weeks of sending in my passing step score. I was able to do ALL GREENBOOK cores. The only gaps in my clinicals were ones that i wanted for vacation or simply waiting to be placed in a specific hospital. Some rotations are good, some are bad. The same rotation in the same hospital can be good for one student and be awful for the next depending on the residents/attendings who are on service at that particular time. For the most part didactic sessions were good for smaller community type programs.

    3) Administration: After coming from the school i came from the UMHS administration was outstanding. They are very responsive to questions and concerns and for the most part work with the students as much as possible, we can email the President of the University and he will respond to you and try to help. If you try to compare it to a US school you will be disappointed as there is simply much less "man-power" and individual attention but much better than where i came from. I was able to do 2 months of electives at a very good US MD program at a cost of 2k per 4 week rotation and UMHS paid almost triple what my previous school and several other Caribbean schools pay for elective rotations which was very impressive. The only downside i would say is that we were told in my 5th semester (almost 3 years ago) that they were in the process of getting NY approval. Obviously we dont have NY approval yet and they timetable for that has been pretty much not publicized.

    We had a very good match list for a young school this year and once we get NY approval i would say UMHS would be best choice out of all the schools that DO NOT have California approval.
    Tipton, canuckdc, mulberry and 2 others like this.

  2. #2
    mulberry is offline Member 539 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    433
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I asked this question in another thread- how many people entered the match and how many did NOT get residencies?

  3. #3
    jackets5 is offline Senior Member 682 points
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,083
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    no clue, ask the school, i obviously don't know everyone we go to school with and who applied this year.

  4. #4
    mulberry is offline Member 539 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    433
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jackets5 View Post
    no clue, ask the school, i obviously don't know everyone we go to school with and who applied this year.
    I understand you transferred in 5th but I was hoping you had a chance to either talk to someone who knew this answer or happened to get an email from the admin. talking about this subject. I think their first 2 years had very impressive step score pass rates (99% and 97% ???) That's good to advertise and all but I just want the hard data- how many people entered and how many got residencies.

    I don't think directly emailing admissions would give me an accurate response. I will keep searching for personal reasons. Thanks!
    Tipton likes this.

  5. #5
    sagopalm is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    14
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    "I was able to do 2 months of electives at a very good US MD program at a cost of 2k per 4 week rotation and UMHS paid almost triple what my previous school and several other Caribbean schools pay for elective rotations which was very impressive. The only downside i would say is that we were told in my 5th semester (almost 3 years ago) that they were in the process of getting NY approval. Obviously we dont have NY approval yet and they timetable for that has been pretty much not publicized."

    -- hello jackets5, is the 2k per 4 week rotation something you had to pay in addition to the 12k per semester for clinical rotations to get the elective? Thanks

  6. #6
    jackets5 is offline Senior Member 682 points
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,083
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    UMHS paid i think 1400 of the 2000 per rotation i think so i had to pay an extra 1200 over two months in addition to our tuition. In the end the experience and if you do a good job and can network the connections you can make is well worth the additional cost. The letters of recomendation and the phone call made on behalf by one of their attedings were very responsible in me getting a couple of interviews and ultimately matching at my #1 choice of program, a program that was in my top 3 even before applying.

  7. #7
    WindsorGirl91 is offline Member 519 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How did you get all greenbook? Did you arrange to yourself

  8. #8
    sagopalm is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    14
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jackets5 View Post
    UMHS paid i think 1400 of the 2000 per rotation i think so i had to pay an extra 1200 over two months in addition to our tuition. In the end the experience and if you do a good job and can network the connections you can make is well worth the additional cost. The letters of recomendation and the phone call made on behalf by one of their attedings were very responsible in me getting a couple of interviews and ultimately matching at my #1 choice of program, a program that was in my top 3 even before applying.
    Thanks so much for the update jackets5. Can you please share with us what electives you chose? Also, do you have any recommendations on choosing electives? Would you recommend doing sub-i's or would any elective be helpful. Thanks again for your help!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2011, 01:15 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-16-2010, 05:35 AM
  3. UMHS Contracts with Kaplan Medical for USMLE Review
    By medicine2k6 in forum University of Medicine and Health Sciences (UMHS)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 07:18 AM
  4. Premier Review USMLE STEP2/STEP 3 Review Course in June/July
    By LINY in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-2006, 06:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •