Sponsored Links

Poll: Did you find "Biochemistry: Board Review Series" by Marks helpful for USMLE prep?

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    coco881 is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    129
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Biochemistry Review Books

    Advertisements



    Hi,

    You guys were so helpful the last time I posted a book related question, so here's another one:

    First termers receive the "Lippincotts Illustrated Review of Biochemistry" by Champe and Harvey, along with "Basic Medical Biochemistry" by Marks.

    I've heard about some 1st term students purchasing supplemental Biochemistry Review Books, mostly to guide preparation for the USMLE.

    1) Did you find the "Lippincotts Illustrated Review of Biochemistry" and "Basic Medical Biochemistry" books to be sufficient for biochemistry at SGU as well as for USMLE prep?

    2) If the above two books were not sufficient, which supplemental biochemstry review book did you find helpful? I've heard the "Biochemistry: Board Review Series" by Marks is a popular choice, but any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks, so much!

    Coco

  2. #2
    doc5544 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    59
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Biochemistry Review Books

    hey coco,

    i'm planning to bring BRS biochem and anatomy with me for first term. they should be helpful for atleast some extra practice questions.

    Quote Originally Posted by coco881
    Hi,

    You guys were so helpful the last time I posted a book related question, so here's another one:

    First termers receive the "Lippincotts Review of Biochemistry" by Champe and Harvey, along with "Basic Medical Biochemistry" by Marks.

    I've heard about some 1st term students purchasing supplemental Biochemistry Review Books, mostly to guide preparation for the USMLE.

    1) Did you find the "Lippincotts Review of Biochemistry" and "Basic Medical Biochemistry" books to be sufficient for biochemistry at SGU as well as for USMLE prep?

    2) If the above two books were not sufficient, which supplemental biochemstry review book did you find helpful? I've heard the "Biochemistry: Board Review Series" by Marks is a popular choice, but any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks, so much!

    Coco

  3. #3
    drnick07's Avatar
    drnick07 is offline Senior Member 514 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,430
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    biochem

    The notes are sufficient for the class. I only cracked the books to look at diagrams. I can't tell you about what to use to study for USMLE since i haven't gotten there.
    Hidden Content
    PGY-3 Pediatrics
    SGU graduating class of 2007
    Pediatric hematology/oncology fellow starting July 2010
    drsforamerica.orgHidden Content

  4. #4
    RichS is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    91
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    BRS

    Yeah, I used BRS biochem to study a little with class. I just read it once after reading the notes. The class notes they give u are very good, you have to know those INSIDE OUT. So that is ur primary reading/study material. The questions in BRS are pretty good.

  5. #5
    AmitK425 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    books

    I'm bringing the BRS for Biochem and Anatomy as well, but hopefully that's just to explain stuff (which could be a lot) I may not understand from the notes and texts provided.

  6. #6
    Silenthunder is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    742
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    hey all; my .02

    Hey all,

    I thought the questions in the BRS Biochem book were allright. Other than that, the book doesn't begin to shine a candle to our class notes.

    The BRS books are in the library on reserve; if you don't want to buy them then you don't really need to.

    Cheers,

    Silenthunder

  7. #7
    Jay
    Jay is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    82
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Images
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    hey all; my .02

    Yeah same here. I hardly ever used those 2 biochem books they give us.

    You will be reading and studying your notes over and over and over. Read the BRS just once and do the questions. I have no idea how it will work for Step 1 'cause I just got done with term 1.

  8. #8
    seagoddess is offline Elite Member 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,791
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    biochemistry

    I agree with what others have said. Notes are sufficient for learning biochem. Know them VERY WELL.

Similar Threads

  1. Rapid review Biochemistry
    By drbilly in forum University of Medicine and Health Sciences Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 09:07 PM
  2. Rapid Review Biochemistry??
    By ts124 in forum Free Downloads
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-18-2009, 02:03 AM
  3. WANTED: Rapid Review Biochemistry
    By Born2BMD in forum Windsor University School of Medicine Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 11:38 AM
  4. Biochemistry and Gros Anatomy review books for sale
    By thezohan in forum Ross Medical School Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 10:25 AM
  5. Rapid Review BIOCHEMISTRY
    By bpoichan in forum USMLE Step 1 Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2007, 06:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •