Sponsored Links
Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 147
  1. #1
    azskeptic's Avatar
    azskeptic is offline Moderator 666 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,728
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Did Conn. approve Spartan again per this article 2 years ago asking for inspections?

    http://www.ctnow.com/news/local/hc-spartan0129.artjan29,1,1990371.story?coll=hc-headlines-local

    Hospitals, State Probing Caribbean Med School
    January 29, 2004
    By


    Three Connecticut hospitals may stop providing
    hands-on training to students from a Caribbean medical
    school whose graduates are banned from practicing in
    six states.

    The hospitals came under scrutiny last month when a
    Courant investigation revealed Spartan Health Sciences
    University's minimal entrance requirements and
    bare-bones facilities. Its students are not even
    allowed to train in hospitals on the school's home
    island of St. Lucia.

    State health commissioner also said
    he is willing to send state regulators to investigate
    Spartan if no national body can be persuaded to take
    on the task of inspecting off-shore medical schools.

    said he launched his own probe into links
    between Spartan and the Connecticut hospitals after
    reading the Courant report.

    St. Mary's Hospital in Waterbury, Griffin Hospital in
    Derby and St. Raphael's in New Haven all have accepted
    Spartan students for practical training on patients in
    surgical and cancer departments, among others.

    "I think we need to do something to assure the people
    of Connecticut that anyone who comes to work in our
    hospitals is properly educated and accredited," Galvin
    said.

    Spartan officials offered no comment for this story.

    , who was recently appointed commissioner of the
    Department of Public Health, said he expects the
    hospitals will voluntarily stop accepting Spartan
    trainees for clinical rotations until a team of
    qualified investigators can determine whether the
    school is "up to snuff."

    Connecticut does not ban hospitals from training
    students from any schools, nor does it ban graduates
    of any specific schools from practicing.

    Unlike medical residents, who have graduated from
    medical school and are licensed physicians who work
    for relatively low pay in exchange for specialized
    training, students on clinical rotations are generally
    in their third or fourth year of medical school. They
    do physicals, take patient histories and perform minor
    procedures under the supervision of a resident.

    a spokesman for Griffin Hospital,
    said the hospital is reviewing its relationship with
    Spartan as part of a broader look at Griffin's medical
    education program.

    stopped short of saying that Griffin had
    suspended the practice of accepting Spartan students
    while the review is underway, but said that students
    from other schools would be given priority for
    acceptance.

    There are no students from Spartan currently at
    Griffin, he said.

    "It's kind of a broad review that's looking at the
    entire student program and discretely at the
    relationship with Spartan as well," said.
    "While that process is in place, we are choosing to
    accept students from schools other than Spartan right
    now."

    xxxxxx interest has sparked a similar review at St.
    Raphael's and St. Mary's, hospital officials said.

    Currently, there is no national organization that
    systematically assesses the quality of foreign medical
    schools. For licensing purposes, many states,
    including Connecticut, rely on a directory of
    international schools published by the World Health
    Organization in Geneva.

    That directory, however, is little more than a listing
    of medical schools that are recognized by the country
    in which they are located. Even the authors of the WHO
    list warn against relying too heavily on their
    directory for quality assurance, pointing out at the
    beginning of the guide that they do not formally
    recognize or accredit the schools.

    Some states, such as New York and California, have
    their own teams of inspectors for off-shore schools.
    But those states are such desirable destinations for
    the mostly American students that the schools are
    generally willing to foot the bill for their own
    inspections in the hope of gaining approval.

    Smaller states don't have that kind of economic clout.

    That's why a group like the Federation of State
    Medical Boards, a trade organization based in Texas
    that represents state officials who issue medical
    licenses, would be a logical body to assume the task
    of inspecting foreign schools, said.

    While FSMB officials acknowledge that a national
    standard for evaluating foreign medical schools would
    be valuable, executive director Jim Thompson said his
    organization is ill-equipped to do the job.

    "Accrediting a medical school is not a simple
    process," said. "When U.S. schools are
    accredited, a team of five people descends on them for
    five days and reviews stacks of documents 24 inches
    high."

    xxxxx acknowledged that five people would start
    bumping into each other after five minutes during an
    inspection of Spartan, which consisted of a single
    building with four classrooms, one lab and three
    cadavers when The Courant visited last October.

    But even the apparent simplicity of inspecting such a
    small school would create its own set of bureaucratic
    obstacles.

    "In that case, what information would somebody want to
    have from these schools?" asked. "Are you
    going to have to lower the standard for international
    schools?"

    Even if no national system for approving international
    schools is established, the concerns about Spartan and
    its connections to Connecticut hospitals are such that
    Galvin would be willing to send his own investigators
    to St. Lucia to inspect the school.

    "I'm of the opinion that somebody should take a close
    look at this place," said.

    Failing that, the health department could insist that
    all hospitals follow the lead of the UConn Medical
    Center, which trains students only from schools in
    North America that have been approved by the American
    Academy of Medical Colleges.

    But smaller hospitals such as St. Mary's and Griffin,
    which are not part of an established medical school or
    located in a major city, have a hard time attracting
    students from U.S. and Canadian medical schools. For
    them, access to international students is critical to
    their goals of achieving the prestige, and economic
    benefits, associated with being a teaching hospital.
    Moderator - State Licensing Forum

    Still skeptical after all these years.
    This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  2. #11
    bts4202's Avatar
    bts4202 is offline Elite Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3,925
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Advertisements



    Quote Originally Posted by jpryor
    No, it isn't a valid question, Az. It's a "When did you stop beating your wife" question. The articles in the Courant are flagrant hatchet jobs, clearly deceptive and just this side of outright lies. That you keep harping on them is understandable, as it meets your need to be perceived as a crusader against "diploma mills". This "fair question" is typical of your tactics. Posting that question here can only be construed as an effort to bait or inflame. There isn't anybody on VMD who could have answered that question which, if you had any real interest, should have been asked of the CT authorities directly. Posting that question and their answer would have been fair. But you didn't do that.

    Don't whine about us shooting the messenger. You're no messenger. You are a self-serving, self-promoting snake-oil peddler. You have become the Mark Furman of crusaders. The moment you stepped over the line to embellish, bias or make a specious statement you lost credibility. You had the opportunity to do good by pointing out the pitfalls and foibles of off-shore schools. But your inability to be factual and your crusade to make a name for yourself caused you to make critical mistakes.

    wow, I couldn;t have said it better myself
    BTS4202
    St. Christopher's COM
    4th Year
    Hidden Content

    "If there really is a God, He has a lot of explaining to do"
    - Dennis Leary

  3. #12
    mj03 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    31
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I wonder??

    Maybe it was AZ who sent out the article to all the state boards. He looks like he has a lot of free time to do something like this. Whoever did sent out this article was trying to ruin Spartan and its grads..but it all it did was ruin the reputation of ALL caribbean schools and their grads...nice going!!!! Like Asian doc said..hopefully these state medical boards will not discriminate and evaluate everyone on a individual basis.


    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    On a brighter note(totally of this topic)...I prematched for IM at a hospital in Midwest I'm not gonna mention what hosp or where cause obviously these people on this forum have no lives(they'll probably search on the net) and I'm not letting someone ruin my good news with allegiations regarding the quality of my education I did well on my boards and I'm happy. I worked hard and it paid off so far. I truly do thank Spartan for giving me a chance to fulfill my dreams.

  4. #13
    ASIANDOC is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    625
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mj03
    Maybe it was AZ who sent out the article to all the state boards. He looks like he has a lot of free time to do something like this. Whoever did sent out this article was trying to ruin Spartan and its grads..but it all it did was ruin the reputation of ALL caribbean schools and their grads...nice going!!!! Like Asian doc said..hopefully these state medical boards will not discriminate and evaluate everyone on a individual basis.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    On a brighter note(totally of this topic)...I prematched for IM at a hospital in Midwest I'm not gonna mention what hosp or where cause obviously these people on this forum have no lives(they'll probably search on the net) and I'm not letting someone ruin my good news with allegiations regarding the quality of my education I did well on my boards and I'm happy. I worked hard and it paid off so far. I truly do thank Spartan for giving me a chance to fulfill my dreams.
    If this article alone was send to all state boards,FSMB,Hospital residency directors and others that would have been ok so may be spartan pushed to close or improve BUT the entire series was sent that includes Meharry,Howard,UAG,Phillipines,and all [except ross,the series did not mention Ross]but had SGU,AUC on a map as banned school in 1 state,it cause huge problem to all and any carribean grad.and that was unfair and dismissed by most of US authorities.
    coincidently,all countries and areas where such attacked schools located in a minority areas and I always wondered about that ,also even here in the US most telling state boards not to create creative rules to target certain grads and be fair to qualified physicians when it come to credentials.....
    many states like Texas have what called equivalency rule yet the high court in OK said that is unconstitutional,the state of CA creates laws and evaluate schools but again the AMA IMG chair said that can lead to unfairness,the state of Indiana create its list but residency program directors said most of our counties underserved and most malpractice and problems actually not from carribean grads and the list goes on...but the bottomline is simple:judge candidates on individual basis under unified rules and that will solve all the problems................

  5. #14
    azskeptic's Avatar
    azskeptic is offline Moderator 666 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,728
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    comparison

    Quote Originally Posted by bts4202
    wow, I couldn;t have said it better myself
    Yes, the two of you have had the same things to say in the same manner for quite a while. Interested readers can review your posts. When I show articles that are not favorable to your schools you have been angered. Misdirected anger in my opinion; change your schools behavior.
    Moderator - State Licensing Forum

    Still skeptical after all these years.
    This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  6. #15
    bts4202's Avatar
    bts4202 is offline Elite Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3,925
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by azskeptic
    Yes, the two of you have had the same things to say in the same manner for quite a while. Interested readers can review your posts. When I show articles that are not favorable to your schools you have been angered. Misdirected anger in my opinion; change your schools behavior.
    neither jpryor or myself attend spartan. Trying to deflect the attention onto our schools "behavior" doesn't diminish jpryor's message. Seems to me that this thread contains a long list of people who also agree with our sentiments.
    BTS4202
    St. Christopher's COM
    4th Year
    Hidden Content

    "If there really is a God, He has a lot of explaining to do"
    - Dennis Leary

  7. #16
    azskeptic's Avatar
    azskeptic is offline Moderator 666 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,728
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    there you go

    Quote Originally Posted by bts4202
    neither jpryor or myself attend spartan. Trying to deflect the attention onto our schools "behavior" doesn't diminish jpryor's message. Seems to me that this thread contains a long list of people who also agree with our sentiments.
    There you go. There are always people who agree with you. There are people who agree with me.
    Moderator - State Licensing Forum

    Still skeptical after all these years.
    This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  8. #17
    ASIANDOC is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    625
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by azskeptic
    There you go. There are always people who agree with you. There are people who agree with me.
    I do not care about spartan or St Chris or harvard,I must say that specifically in this thread its very unlikely to find realistic people to agree with you unless of course they have hidden agendas......
    such articles brought zillion times already and bringing the subject over and over will not increase the hate towards carribean grads any more because the FSMB taking the lead now.
    If any of us brings info and stay neutral,we will be doing the right thing for the valuemd crowd.............

  9. #18
    azskeptic's Avatar
    azskeptic is offline Moderator 666 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,728
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    article

    Quote Originally Posted by ASIANDOC
    I do not care about spartan or St Chris or harvard,I must say that specifically in this thread its very unlikely to find realistic people to agree with you unless of course they have hidden agendas......
    such articles brought zillion times already and bringing the subject over and over will not increase the hate towards carribean grads any more because the FSMB taking the lead now.
    If any of us brings info and stay neutral,we will be doing the right thing for the valuemd crowd.............
    This article was never posted on Valuemd before that I can find. I have written the Ct board to find the answer to the question that apparently no one here knows or wants to share.
    Moderator - State Licensing Forum

    Still skeptical after all these years.
    This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  10. #19
    ASIANDOC is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    625
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by azskeptic
    This article was never posted on Valuemd before that I can find. I have written the Ct board to find the answer to the question that apparently no one here knows or wants to share.
    I know the answer:

    the CT or other state [the only one doing evaluation is CA]do not have the expertise or the resources to do med schools evaluations and referred the matter to the FSMB to do the job and they did.
    this article along with 2 others attacking all[I mean all]carribean grads and students]and other non carribean schools,It was posted many many times.
    why any student,resident,or grad from any carribean school agree with this post,again the series was critical of dozens of school and agreeing with it will do nothing but harm them especially many outstanding schools were bashed in the series unfairly.

  11. #20
    lyds83 is offline Temporarily Banned 510 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    28
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lol

    You know the whole time i thought this azkeptic character was in med sch or a doc! Wow its just like me being in charge of screening for the supreme court judges lol. Dude get a life.

    Hey stephew i think your name is, is it okay if i say someone is a loser and has a big time inferiority complex and feels important behind his keyboard?


    Everybody be my withness i didnt say any names. I bet i will get multiple warnings for asking this question.

Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Medical Article in Indian Journal of Pharmocology by Spartan
    By ZAATARI in forum Spartan Medical School
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 10:38 AM
  2. tags and inspections on SXM
    By sohomale in forum American University of the Caribbean (AUC)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-16-2004, 09:07 AM
  3. Article on Spartan Nobel Peace Prize Winner!!!! (one of many
    By shockandawe in forum Spartan Medical School
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 05-18-2004, 11:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •