Sponsored Links
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    biologyman is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    58
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    USMLE review courses integrate w/ Ross curriculum?

    Advertisements



    Hi, I've heard from my interviewer that review courses for usmle will be availible for Ross students just like AUC in near future. Do current students know if this is something that is underway? If so, will this service be in there in time for the May class?

  2. #2
    Incognito is offline Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    146
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: USMLE review courses integrate w/ Ross curriculum?

    I believe you're inferring to the BMSI program here.
    It's deemed "5th Semester - Dominica" and its a prep for the Step 1.

    It may not be in your intentions to go through a 5th Semester here. By maintaining a GPA above 2.9, you can complete the Domican leg of the education within 4 Semesters.

    -Incog

  3. #3
    MitchDC is offline Elite Member 512 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3,194
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: USMLE review courses integrate w/ Ross curriculum?

    Biology Man, I'm not familiar with what they do at AUC, but the USMLE review course is not integrated into the typical curriculum here at Ross. It used to be so in 5th semester, but many students didn't want or need to take it (and didn't want to pay for it), so now it is just like in the US schools - up to the student. The 5th semester is short so you can take a review course after you finish in Miami.

    Now, what was Incognito talking about? If you don't earn a 2.9GPA or above after 4 semesters, you then have one last chance to move on. You must take the Comprehensive Shelf Exam, a test much like the USMLE Step 1. If you pass, you go right on to Miami. If you don't pass, you enter a remedial semester where they have Princeton Review give a prep course to get you up to speed and ready to move on. SO, that is the only prep course integrated in the curriculum.

    Hope this helps!

    MitchDC
    MitchDC/MD
    RUSM 2006 Graduate

  4. #4
    Z06MD is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    47
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: USMLE review courses integrate w/ Ross curriculum?

    Hey Mitch,
    I was wondering, is it Princeton Review ppl themselves, their materials?
    I was told that Ross no longer used Princeton Review; instead our professors go through their coursework at lightning speed, and where such a professor is not at par, they bring in a Princeton or Kaplan teacher-- such as the physiology professor that was here for a week. About a month ago, I believe, he was here doing BMSI physiology and was a IM doctor.
    Zack

  5. #5
    MitchDC is offline Elite Member 512 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3,194
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: USMLE review courses integrate w/ Ross curriculum?

    Zack, as far as I can tell, it is the Princeton Review that is still running the course. That's not to say that the Princeton Review isn't having some of our professors teaching the course. The material I have seen has "Princeton Review" written on it. Maybe it has changed.

    MitchDC
    MitchDC/MD
    RUSM 2006 Graduate

  6. #6
    Incognito is offline Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    146
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: USMLE review courses integrate w/ Ross curriculum?

    Let me break it down for you,

    I was at the Bank on Campus (its new!) recently.

    I saw this d00d in BMSI.

    Anyways have you bought First Aid? If not, maybe you havn't seen the Princton Review book for USMLE Step 1. Its called "Cracking the Boards."

    Ok, its Sunday...are you bored?

    Go to Barnes and Noble.
    Look at that Cracking the Boards book. Heck, go on amazon.com and read some review for it.

    Now that you have a picture of it's cover in your head. Imagine this.
    BMSi's book is looking quite similar.
    It says, "Princeton Review" and "Ross <blah> <blah> <blah>"
    So as you can see this program is very serious with their publications etc.
    ...

Similar Threads

  1. loans for usmle review courses
    By Laconic in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 06:43 AM
  2. Falcon Launching USMLE Review Courses in India!
    By ram9774 in forum USMLE Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2009, 02:12 AM
  3. where to find courses curriculum [courses&textbooks
    By lse123 in forum Russian Medical Schools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 01:29 PM
  4. Review courses for USMLE
    By anu in forum USMLE Step 1 Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-31-2007, 07:01 PM
  5. Does St. Georges integrate a review course for the USMLEs?
    By thedirtychemist in forum St. Georges University School of Medicine
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-27-2005, 08:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •