Sponsored Links
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Crane is offline Permanently Banned 511 points
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    multiple accounts
    Posts
    297
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What is your opinion of this school

    Advertisements



    I read some interesting things about this school such as the cost and clinicals all in one location with no wait time. Is this true? How good is the basic sciences faculty? Do you have access to lecture notes, power points, etc... Is there wireless internet on campus? How are the facilities at this school? How many people make it to the 5th semester? Is there a high failure ration? Are these classes really that small as the school claims?

  2. #2
    metrocrest is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    66
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am a second semester student here, so I can verify smooth clinical rotations yet. But I know that it is possible to stay in either chicago or atlanta and complete all your clinical rotations in one city.

    The basic science faculty is alright. Most are MDs or PhDs. However there is a lot of self study that needs to be done. You will have access to the lecture notes and powerpoints. Yes, there is wireless internet on campus.

    My first semester class had 31 students. All but four students passed both classes and moved on to the second semester. Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    mst3 is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi:
    how much of course material taught is high yeild for shelf exam? and usmle 1?
    thank you

  4. #4
    mst3 is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    do you also know the number of graduating class of 2005?
    thank you

  5. #5
    Johny123 is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    16
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It is really nice school having almost all the facilities of modern age

  6. #6
    misstexasdoc is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    It Sucks

    Went there today for my orientation and its located on the third floor of a commercial building. I heard some pretty bad things about the first semester Histology professor and second semester physiology professor. They made us sign a waiver so they can use our photos wherever and whenever. We ate a crappy lunch in a hot kitchen called the cafeteria. It is very hot in the building and they are putting in some strict rules about what you can and cannot wear.
    They can also read your emails and pvt messages anytime they choose. I hope it gets better but from what I saw today I dont recommend it and I will probably be leaving soon.

  7. #7
    dr.kidd is offline Member 511 points
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Complaining the very first day of school, eh ?! Well we be hearing a lot from you...!

    There is nothing wrong with the Histology or Physiology Professor. They are both knowledgable in their fields and can guide you through the material. You have to study on your own. Come on now, dont give in so easily to whatever anyone says around you.

    You are never forced to sign a waiver. Last time during orientation, I signed the same waiver form saying that the school "maynot" use any photographs without my express consent. You have the right to refuse consent. If you have already signed the form; but have a problem with it, go speak to your faculty advisor or the Dean.

    The school has recently come out with a dress code coz last semester students were coming to class in basketball jersey and stuff. Its is hot in the caribbeans. However formal dressing is required all days except Fridays.

    You go to ANY caribbean schools, you must be willing to make some amount of adjustments. If you cannot put up with it, simply transfer to a different school. No matter where you go, you will always run into similar problems. My advice to you is to forget everything else and just focus on your studies.

  8. #8
    Ajs12902 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    In a apartment
    Posts
    61
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This is what your going to get if you screwed up during your undergrad years. Think of it as a golden chance. It's a make or break. And for you to come to a carribean medical school, you have to sacrifice a lot. But it will get the job done if you are consistent, and motivated. I personally think IAU is great, and I love the faculty and the students are quite friendly.

    The physicality of the school is quite disturbing when you first see it. It's not that bad now. But honestly, if your truly passionate about studying medicine. You won't really give a pooh pooh where it is, and how it is as long as the material is being presented properly. The rest is up to you. On top of that, the tuition is low, NY approval, plenty of clinical sites in Chicago, and Atlanta (no waiting). Between I'm not trying to make a sale here, I just want you to know that you can do it!

    Good luck

Similar Threads

  1. I would really appreciate your opinion...
    By WantToBeADr in forum American University of Antigua (AUA)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-22-2011, 06:45 AM
  2. Current/Past AUA students: What is your opinion of this school?
    By vhinrich in forum American University of Antigua (AUA)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 04:26 PM
  3. What is your opinion of this school
    By Crane in forum University Of Health Sciences Antigua (UHSA)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 04:01 PM
  4. Opinion
    By Skipper in forum American University of the Caribbean (AUC)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-19-2004, 07:01 PM
  5. Risk of school closing? Community Opinion?
    By WantMD in forum Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2004, 09:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •