Sponsored Links
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Macgyver1MD's Avatar
    Macgyver1MD is offline Senior Member 535 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In my jeep wrangler sporting my mullet
    Posts
    877
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Family Medicine - Providence Hospital (Northville MI, Dr. B)- Post Rotation Review

    Advertisements



    Ok if your doing Family Medicine at Providince Hospital at an Outpatient site in Northville MI (Dr. B) then this is for you.

    Well the your week is scheduled between 3 different providers at the office. There are 2 offices you will go to. 1 in Northville MI (2 min from Novi) and the other is in South Lyon (30min from Novi). Your day starts at 9:00am and depending on your provider you will see the patients and present to the Dr and go in with them to see if your Dx matches theirs. Sometimes lunch is provided by reps, 1-2x a week on average. Your day ends on avg 5pm some days eariler, some later. Your expected you know the drugs they are selling, so ask questions and learn them. You are tested at the end of the rotation on "the closet". This is the closet in both offices where the drug reps leave their samples. There is ALOT OF DRUGS in there and your expected to learn all of them and their indications. My advice is to make notecards or a spreadsheet. He will quiz you in a test the last week and if you don't pass the test, you fail the rotation per him. Harsh I know.

    When your with Dr. B (owner) you have to stay past closing time to review charts and call patients with him. Sometimes an hour, hardley every longer. In my personal opinion he has a bit of a superior complex and likes pimping and making you do some minimal skut work. Not bad though, just the overall atitude is a little "holyer than thou", but managable.

    When your with Dr. B (women) she is really nice and polite and is a pleasure to work with. She enjoys teaching and you will like working with her. She is very big on homeopathic therapys and foods in addition to standard therapys.

    When your with Dr. P he is also nice, but usually very busy and gets behind easily. He teaches a lot too, but is more of a learn as we work kind. He is very easy to work with and you mostly are a spectator, but he does send you to see patients and report to him what you find. Interestingly he asks for your opinion on some cases for differential dx's that are a bit more difficult. Overall he is a nice guy who teaches too.

    Overall the rotation was Average, but not terrible. It would have been great if the owner (Dr. B) was a bit less "better than you" and toned down the scutting to a bare min if any. If there are other FP rotations to choose from, try them first. Remember your with other 2 providers throughout the week too, so you are with (owner) Dr B only a few days a week. Though don't avoid this at all costs, its just a bit more challanging than your standard outpatient rotation. His MA's and RN's are AWESOME and made the rotation a lot more easy to deal with. Talk to them and have fun with them and you will have fun every day.

    I give 2.5-3 stars.
    PGY-Attending Hidden Content FP

  2. #2
    DocSAMMD is offline Senior Member 521 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    549
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    U really opened a can of worms with this post enjoy.

    God Help U do not shadow Dr. B. By far one of the most inept DO's i ever had to work with. If a patient came in with a fever she would prescribe lavaza (fish fkn oil). Lady weighs 100lbs walks into an obese pateints room and tells her I understand how u feel about your weight. she will not do any of her own procedures and will make u stand behind her for 1 hour as she asks her patients are u stressed? i am sorry her holistis crap is a farce. I have never seen a doc rip off so many patients selling gnc products at triple the price.

    Dr J and owner are cool however are horrible at time management. u will spend extra hours there because they cant stick to a god damn schedule. they waste so much time there i would be there from 7 to 9pm. plus they have an office 35miles away from providence.

  3. #3
    Bhoot is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Terra
    Posts
    103
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    review

    Reviews like these are very helpful to those behind, detailed and informative. Thanks

  4. #4
    rnagy54's Avatar
    rnagy54 is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    325
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DocSAMMD View Post
    U really opened a can of worms with this post enjoy. God Help U do not shadow Dr. B. By far one of the most inept DO's i ever had to work with.


    This is the absolute truth. I decided that I would rather do med-peds based on this rotation. Being involved in selling their "snake oils" made me see the underbelly of medicine. I could not believe how stubborn they were about not treating patients with relevant medications, and how happy their patients were even though they were getting WORSE!!! The fish oil was used to treat everything from HTN to arthritis, RIDICULOUS!! I guess I might believe it could work if they werent selling it themselves at 3x price like DocSAMMD said. Plus, them reading their own echo's (incorrectly I might add), is just the tip of the iceberg. These guys do NOT teach good clinical practice in any sense of the phrase. They are for most part nice people, but NOT bright docs. Their offices out in the boonies are fun to go to when not in the middle of the winter through ice storms like I had to travel through. Plus, they were usually empty. Overall, I would rather do surgery for another three months than another week in this office.

    FRUSTRATING!!!

    Ryan Nagy
    Combined Med-Peds residency at Michigan State University/KCMS on inpatient peds right now and loving it!

    ...Winners don't even realize they are in a race... they just like to run.

  5. #5
    DocSAMMD is offline Senior Member 521 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    549
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Remember do not do OP-5

  6. #6
    DocSAMMD is offline Senior Member 521 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    549
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    WARNING this rotation is still being offered

  7. #7
    ag8416 is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    161
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    for me it's simple; if i have a question, answer it. Dr. B would just ignore me and he is super bright. I dont know why he does that. He just gives this arrogant look then turns away.

  8. #8
    medic1691's Avatar
    medic1691 is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    St Maarten, NA
    Posts
    149
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Personally, I had no major issues with this rotation. It's all about whether or not you get along with the different personalities. Dr B's style (woman) of homeopathy was not my cup of tea, but it was interesting, however, to see medicine from that perspective. If nothing else, it opens your eyes to what other people are doing out there. In my case, it made me happy in my decision to choose allopathic medicine. Yes, the closet was a lot of brand names to memorize, but think of it this way - most of your patient's drugs are in brand names, if you have to sit there and look each one up, how confident is your patient going to be with you? Plus, you'll be wasting a lot of your time looking them all up. The closet was quite an undertaking, but worth it in my opinion.

    Basically, it boils down to this: if you come in with arrogance and an attitude that you think you know everything (though you're still just a student and they've been in practice for a number of years) then, yes, there are going to be issues and the rotation will suck for you. If, on the other hand, you come in with the attitude that you're willing to learn anything they can teach you and that you want to help out any way you can, then it'll be a good learning experience. All in all, it was a good rotation for me and I learned quite a bit - some I'll incorporate into my own style and knowledge base, others I'll dismiss and chalk it up to an interesting experience.
    Last edited by medic1691; 12-27-2009 at 11:25 AM.
    If you just keep telling yourself it's all worth it in the end, perhaps you'll actually believe it.

  9. #9
    DocSAMMD is offline Senior Member 521 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    549
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Basically, it boils down to this: if you come in with arrogance and an attitude that you think you know everything (though you're still just a student and they've been in practice for a number of years) then, yes, there are going to be issues and the rotation will suck for you.[/QUOTE]

    wrong b and jps are fines. the lady is a moron selling protein shakes. if u truly want to be humble consider yourself arrogant.

  10. #10
    medic1691's Avatar
    medic1691 is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    St Maarten, NA
    Posts
    149
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have no idea why this is an argument! You gave your opinion, and I gave mine. How can you argue with someone's opinion. Anyway, I think her patients are the morons for buying into all that. I've tried to talk to her patients to consider more traditional style medicine, but they didn't want to hear it. So, it begs the question: who exactly is the moron, her or her patients? (don't answer that, buy the way, you've already stated your answer)

    Calling ME arrogant is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard! How is being humble considered arrogance? That totally contradicts the meaning. Anyway, I don't agree with her style, but I do consider it to be an experience into how some docs operate - right or wrong. Yet, after all who have gone through this rotation, only a small handful of disgruntled students talk about it. I was dreading this rotation after reading this thread, but it turned out to be alright.

    I was just giving my two cents worth to let others know how it was for me, as opposed to the opinion of 2 or 3 who thought it was a waste of time.
    If you just keep telling yourself it's all worth it in the end, perhaps you'll actually believe it.

Similar Threads

  1. Psychiatry - Providence Hospital - Post Rotation Review
    By Macgyver1MD in forum AUC Med School Clinicals
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-28-2009, 02:58 PM
  2. Providence Hospital MI Pediatrics Post-Rotation Review
    By Macgyver1MD in forum AUC Med School Clinicals
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 12:24 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2009, 10:46 PM
  4. Griffin Hospital CT (Internal Medicine) -Post Rotation Review
    By Macgyver1MD in forum AUC Med School Clinicals
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 02:49 PM
  5. Larkin Hospital Family Medicine Rotation
    By RossMD2006 in forum Ross University School of Medicine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2005, 11:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •