PDA

View Full Version : Cost of Living in Australia and GAMSAT

Hanson
03-15-2003, 02:43 PM
Total cost to atten aussie med!
by sn (Login nimalan)

Hi all!
Could any one tell me how much does it cost annualy to attend flindders or Sydney? (tuition 32K+living +food+books+etc)

Posted on Mar 3, 2002, 4:39 PM
from IP address 137.82.13.188
Edit Message Delete Message Respond to this message

Return to Index

1st year reply
by Anonymous (Login tree_sap)

Hi. I am currently a first year student at Flinders, I haven't checked this board since I arrived in Australia almost 2 months ago, so if you have anything you want to ask...feel free to email me.

I don't know what the total costs will be (as I am only a first year), but tuition alone is $30,500ish Australian, roughly $15K US/year (NOT BAD, trust me).

Housing is shockingly cheap! I pay less than $150 (US)/month for a shared house near campus. Some folks with cars are paying roughly 2x that to live on the beach. Even then, it is still better than the $600/month I was paying in the states to live in a rathole.

Food, books and everything else are pretty cheap in SA as well. I can't say it is not in Sydney as well, but I am really impressed at the prices of everything here. For example, textbooks. Medical textbooks are notoriously expensive. I bought an anatomy text back in the states for $180 (text, workbook, CDrom package) in September. The same book is in the school bookstore for Australian $100. All the physio books are roughly the same prices as what I would expect, except Aus dollars. Besides, they are all available on reserve in the library and you don't have to buy them unless you are a lazy bum like me and don't want to go there.

Airfare might be a concern. I used my frequent flier miles, so it wasn't a major factor. You're a heck of a long way from anywhere, so you might want to budget in a bit of travel money, so you can go see Sydney or Perth on the breaks (or Fiji for that matter).