PDA

View Full Version : What happens after you get your degree?

loverofmedicine
03-07-2018, 04:39 PM
Hi all,
I'm interested in studying Medicine at Semmelweis University. I'm a non-EU student by the way. I was wondering, what happens after students complete the course and get their degree? Do they move on to residency in Hungary or are they required to go back to their country? Please, if anyone has any info let me know. I can't make a decision without knowing. Thank you.

devildoc8404
03-08-2018, 02:54 PM
Hi all,
I'm interested in studying Medicine at Semmelweis University. I'm a non-EU student by the way. I was wondering, what happens after students complete the course and get their degree? Do they move on to residency in Hungary or are they required to go back to their country? Please, if anyone has any info let me know. I can't make a decision without knowing. Thank you.

Holy crap, there are a ton of possible outcomes. Just a few of them:

1) Ideally, one graduates and starts residency either back home or in another very desirable location with excellent training and physician remuneration.
2) One graduates, but is unable to get a training position for residency in his/her home country (or another desirable location) and must seek one elsewhere, but can find one because of language ability, solid study habits and clinical abilities, etc.
3) One graduates, but has to pay further tuition for residency training in a less-desirable location (as opposed to being paid for work during residency, one pays the hospital for the privilege of being abused as a resident for x number of years). This, in my opinion, would be one of the circles of hell.
4) One graduates, but is unable to get a training position for residency anywhere, for any of a variety of reasons, and has to do something else entirely. I know a lot of people in this boat, alas... doing nursing, health counseling, sales, teaching, etc.