PDA

View Full Version : Any Advice

CountChocula
08-02-2016, 01:15 AM
Hello to you all,
I have spent the better half of the last week reading through the forums and have gotten a good appreciation of what it takes to handle the course work at SGU. I am lucky enough to have gotten a placement in the Jan session. However this question is a little diffcult and I suspect the range of responses from people actually in the program may help me make a huge life decision.

I am not worried about moving to the island, nor am I worried about the work involved (as hard is it is to believe). My question is that I am an international student, I am non-tradtional in my path (I will be 30 when I enter SGU). Which means that placement in residency after completion is already going to be a challenge. Is this something that you guys feel is almost impossible to climb? I read on the forums that IMG placement in the US is getting tougher these days, so do you think its likely I will end up having to do FM? To be honest, I love FM and would not mind doing it. However is the stats similar for going to the UK? I much prefer going to practice and learn there than in the US so I wonder if any of you have taken that route?