PDA

View Full Version : Avalon MD5 changes proceeding over the objections of students

Avalon_Student
08-06-2015, 04:00 PM
Hello,

I am a current Avalon student at the Curacao campus, and feel obligated to inform incoming students as well as anyone considering Avalon University School of Medicine that the MD5 program being advertised on their website (the one current students signed up for) is being replaced over the vehement objections of essentially the entire student body with one obviously designed to save the school money at the expense of it's students.

The program we all signed up for, and is still no doubt being sold to new students since the website hasn't changed is 16 weeks for MD5 in West Virginia with a review course and properly qualified teachers to prepare us for Step 1. We have all planned our lives around this timetable from both a financial as well as personal standpoint.

The Avalon administration has unilaterally decided to pull a bait and switch on us, and informed us less than two weeks prior to our final exams (when everybody was too busy studying to put up much resistance of course) that MD5 will now consist of 8 more weeks on Curacao followed by 8 weeks in West Virginia. Besides the difficulty of moving 2000 miles halfway though your last semester before the Step, the administration has consistently balked at attempts by students to get them to tell us exactly who these professors on the island teaching the first part will be, or even if they will have taken Step 1 themselves. When pressed on the issue at the only meeting of the student body that was held on this issue, the head of the school on the island replied: "The professors will be aware of Step 1" When pressed further on what exactly was meant by that evasive, abstract and non-committal answer, he refused to answer further questions on the matter. All of this while AUSOM is raising our tuition significantly.