PDA

View Full Version : Accepted to Ross and Saba, MERP'ed at AUC, Placed in Foundations at SGU- Please help!

genericusername_
06-18-2015, 06:15 PM
AUC and SGU were my top choices, now I'm extremely frustrated and baffled trying to decide what I should do. As if not getting into a U.S. medical school wasn't hard enough.

My MCAT and GPA are average. I did a non-science master's degree after graduating, and really want to keep the ball rolling and start medical school. My extracurriculars and experiences are excellent. I do well in supportive environments, and that doesn't seem to be the case with Ross and Saba where they don't have a problem dropping you. I am worried that being placed in MERP and Foundations by AUC and SGU means I really need the extra semester, on the other it's hard to justify it when I have been accepted to other schools.

What concerns me most about Ross and Saba are their attrition rates. I know SGU offers a variety of programs to help students succeed, do Ross and Saba have similar services? Another concern of mine is clinical rotations. I want to settle down in NY and rotate at hospitals there during my 3rd and 4th year, but it seems like you really have to fight for your desired rotations at Ross and Saba. My third concern regarding Saba is the size of the island and lack of amenities. I don't want to go insane.

I would appreciate insight from those attending any of these school, especially Ross and Saba. Also, do you think I should start right away or spend a semester preparing myself?

Thank you for your help!

lightningstrike
06-18-2015, 10:49 PM
Hey,

As a current Saba student, I can't recommend the school to someone in your circumstances.