PDA

View Full Version : How to tell someone to consider quitting medical school

don1
10-14-2014, 03:05 PM
I graduated from a caribbean medical school and I am a resident physician.

I have several extended family members that are caribbean medical students but they are stuck in limbo writing the step 1 exam. Some have been "studying" for like 3 years for USMLE step 1.

When they speak to other family members they come up with believable excuses on what they are doing. Some family members mistakenly think they are already doctors, because they call themselves that. Because I have medical training, I can see past their excuses. The truth is that they do not have what it takes to study and pass the USMLE, so they are unlikely to ever become physicians.

Everytime I see them we have little else to talk about other than studying. Their life seems to be on hold. 

I feel bad that they are wasting their life by lieing to themselves and others that they will be physicians. I feel their parents had told them to do this and they are stuck living a lie and the years are going by and they are doing nothing but "studying". If I ask them medical questions they don’t seem to know very much; I don't think more "studying" will change that.

Has anyone else encountered this?? What can I say to help people like this??

I honestly think they would be happier doing something else rather than letting another year go by "studying" for the usmle step 1

ek_civic
10-15-2014, 06:39 AM