PDA

View Full Version : Accepting Queensland Offer?

Avicii
08-13-2014, 03:01 PM
Hello all!

I apologize in advance if I am placing this thread in the wrong forum as I am new to ValueMD. I am currently in final year of my B.Sc. degree at the University of Alberta. My academic profile is not that stellar: GPA of 3.91, and MCAT score of 30. During my third year, I applied and was invited for an interview for the medical programme at the University of Alberta. Unfortunately, I did was not successful at getting admission (my interview went terribly). Now I am looking to reapply and have started applications to a few Canadian universities as well as medical schools elsewhere, such as Ireland, U.S., Singapore, Australia, and New Zealand. I have actually submitted my application to the U of A, Memorial University, UBC, and U of C.

I have received an offer of admission to the February 2015 MD programme at the University of Queensland. Although initially I was ecstatic by receiving the offer, after researching further on the UQ's MD program and the current internship situation in Australia these have discouraged me to accept the offer.

As many of you know, University of Queensland is changing its programme from MBBS to MD. On IMED under University of Queensland, the MD is not listed. I do plan to settle in Australia, but this makes me worried as I would like to leave my doors open if ever I change my plan and decide to complete residency or would like to practice in North America.