PDA

View Full Version : Transferring into Saba University School of Medicine

dii275
04-09-2014, 10:17 AM
Hey Guys,

Sorry my first ever post since I'm really stumped here.

So a little background, I am a canadian student who has completed his highschool and 1.5 years at University of Saskatchewan in Arts and Science. However I took the opportunity to go to a Pakistan Medical College since they only require a High School degree and look at your High School Average. The Pakistani medical colleges are recognized worldwide and students are eligible to take the USMLE and practice in US and Canada. However, I just found out I can only give my USMLE after the 5th year of medical school here and that is very time consuming. So my plan of action is now to be able to transfer to a Caribbean Medical school since they have a much higher USMLE pass rate and students are much more likely to get residencies graduating from a Caribbean school.

For the original question, does anyone have any experience or knowledge of people transferring into Caribbean medical colleges most specifically Saba University? What are the requirements? What semester do they place you in? Are Pakistan Medical College e eligible for transfers?

Thank you for any information

rokshana
04-09-2014, 10:53 AM
Go back to canada and finish your bachelors degree and go to a Canadian medical school...unless you screwed up your UG GPA so badly that it's not salvageable

Otherwise stay where you are and complete your degree at the medical school you're currently attending...flitting from school to school will just raise more red flags than you already have.

dii275
04-09-2014, 01:20 PM
Go back to canada and finish your bachelors degree and go to a Canadian medical school...unless you screwed up your UG GPA so badly that it's not salvageable