PDA

View Full Version : Medical studies in English in Split, Croatia. Current student's opinion.

forcheta
02-07-2014, 12:53 PM
Hello everyone. I'm a current student studying medicine in Split and am writing this to help any prospective students in their decision-making process! I will be talking a lot more subjectively on this topic, the stydyng-process, and some general info with regards to my experience thus far.
The entrance exam
There is no entance exam and for my academic year 2013/2014 there were in total 50 places (eu&non-eu). Actually, there is the priority criteria mentioned on the website: candidates holding university degree or completed courses in biology/chemistry get accepted in the first round. However, most current students are simply high school graduates, only a few of them already have any collegework behind.
Thus I assume that this med school is far from beeing tough to get into.
Tution fee
7 000 Euro per year.
Teaching staff
Professors and assistants for main subjects like Histology, Biology and Anatomy, are definitely fluent in written English and many of them either get educated or did some research in the US/UK. However, many other lectures (Biophysics, for example) are run by unknowledgeable professors and as a result they are hard to understand, unorganized, often not corresponding to the curriculum.
Curriculum (which itself represents significant drawback)
Classes are held in blocks for each subject. For example, all November and Decemer we studied Histology and after Christmas there were Biophysics and Medical Biology afterwards. It's obligated to take the exam right after the end of each block. The number of free days for the intense exam-preparation is in proportion to the duration of the block to which it refers. Then come the 2nd and the 3d examination periods which are held in July and September respectively. It's allowed to participate in the exam 8 times and if a student still desn't pass, then he or she is kicked out.