PDA

View Full Version : Best medical schools in Japan?

noticeray
08-16-2013, 08:33 AM
My son from the Caribbean in got a scholarship to Japan and is considering doing medicine. He will have to do 6 months language training in Japanese. He also has been accepted to the University of the West Indies medical school. As a medical doctor I am a bit sceptical with him accepting the one in Japan. Your advice will be appreciate

Riften
08-17-2013, 04:05 AM
Interesting. I wonder if they have a medical school in Japan that teaches in English. I think he should go to the West Indies medical school so later he can practice in the UK or other English speaking countries.

Tricuspid
08-23-2013, 08:51 PM
Best 4 medical schools in Japan definitely the University of Tokyo, the Tokyo School of Medicine and Dentistry, Osaka University, Kyoto University.

Any school in the 7 imperial schools list is going to be the top. Waseda, Keio, are also likely good schools.

Honestly, I would go to Japan. Japanese medical schools are very good and of very high quality, your son will be able to stay in Japan or go to places like the US after graduation after doing USMLE. A number of Japanese trained physicians work in the US including Columbia's Tomoaki Kato, very famous.

deej
06-24-2014, 10:09 AM
Waseda does not have a school of medicine.

henry90121
06-24-2014, 11:06 AM
Japanese Med school teaches totally in Japanese. No exception.

Talukdar
06-26-2014, 07:14 AM
Sorry, nobody around me is living there now. So, besides the best school, would you tell me something about the livings there. I might get interest and come over there

medic300107
06-26-2014, 04:23 PM
The biggest challenge will be that I doubt 6 months is enough to learn the Japanese language fluently enough to not struggle more in school. Medical school is hard enough alone without having a language barrier on top of it. That would be my concern.

Talukdar
06-27-2014, 07:57 AM