PDA

View Full Version : MD not accepted by UK's GMC. Impending lawsuit against SMU. Looking for similar cases

DavesDad
04-01-2013, 08:27 AM
I graduated a couple of years ago from SMU and have been fighting to enter the GMC's Foundation Programme ever since. The problem that the GMC has with my MD from SMU is that more than 50% of my education was done outside of the country (In the US) that issued the degree (Cayman Islands), a violation of the SMU's rule, "​It must not have involved a programme of study where more than 50% of that study (compared to the standard duration of the qualification) has been undertaken outside the country that awarded the qualification." I took what I was instructed by SMU to take for my MD, only to have the GMC say what I was instructed to do was incorrect. Further, I have several emails from both the Director of the GMC on down directly stating that SMU had been previously warned what would happen should they graduate MDs in this fashion. I was then informed that I was not the only case in which this had happened.

My attorney asked me to reach out to other SMU graduates and see if anyone else had a similar problem and ask how it was, or if it was, resolved. My email address is stmatthewslawsuit at gmail or feel free to respond here so that it can be found by others in the same situation at a later date.

Thank you.

rokshana
04-01-2013, 08:44 AM
Not really sure what grounds you have...the GMC has had those requirements for many years...if you graduated only a couple of years ago, this was not new..smu ( or any foreign med school) is not responsible for making you eligible to be able to practice in any other country than the one it is chartered in...good luck though.

DavesDad
04-01-2013, 08:56 AM