PDA

View Full Version : medical residency

lakerfan
03-23-2013, 06:37 AM
I am currently a student at American University of Antigua. I've heard from so many people that getting an M.D. from a Caribbean school is a bad idea because it greatly limits the residency placements possible and lots of people aren't able to get any residency. But when most people talk about this situation its usually that a person scored bad on Step 1 or failed classes or have other red flags. As long as someone scores above a 85 on the Step 1 and scores good on everything else should be able to at least get a family medicine residency at least? It can't be that impossible that you would have to get 99's on all USMLE's parts to get even the most basic residency placements right?

devildoc8404
03-23-2013, 06:52 AM
The match scene is changing in a significant way over the coming few years. (If you havenīt yet, then definitely read up on the AAMC, their efforts to create a 1-to-1 ratio of US grads to US residency positions by 2016, etc.).

Hell, there are no guarantees anyway, for FM or any other specialty. Lots of IMGs donīt match, and that can be the case even if they pass everything on the first attempt.

IMHO, within about 5 years or so IMGs will have to have pretty impeccable credentials across the board to get any match at all in the US. Maybe a little longer than that, but not much.

(Did you really head off to the Carib without doing any research into this particular topic?)

lakerfan
03-23-2013, 07:02 AM