PDA

View Full Version : Is Turkey med schools diploma equivalent to EU med school diploma?

TAJIK
10-26-2012, 06:07 AM
Hi guys I am a student at one of the Turkish universities studying biomedical eng. I hv attend turkish med school but unfortunately i did not get accepted. So I am planning to attend this year one more time and as one of the options I am cosidering Turkey. So while studying here in Turkey I hv learned that all acredited Turkish universities graduation diploma is equivalent to those in EU. They call it like ''Green Diploma''. So does this ''Green Diploma'' system work on a med school?

devildoc8404
10-26-2012, 02:58 PM
"Equivalency" is not the problem, Tajik. The difference is that an EU diploma is automatically accepted by the countries in the EU, while the Turkish (and almost every other foreign) diploma needs to go through the equivalency process. It isn't automatic, but if you are at an accredited and respected university in Turkey, you can apply to the EU country that interests you for approval of the degree. It'll probably work out fine, but there are no guarantees.

It is important to remember that even an EU diploma (or a diploma that has been deemed equivalent) cannot guarantee a work visa in every EU country. Some countries might very well accept a doctor's medical credentials, whether automatically or through application, but that country's immigration department might not allow that doctor to enter the country and work there. That is the case for me, for example. I will have an EU diploma, but I have no chance of working in the UK. I'm not an EU citizen, so there is almost a zero percent chance that I can ever work there even with the EU diploma... unless I get an EU citizenship.

Long story short(er): there are more hoops to jump through if you are not earning an EU diploma, but it is not impossible.

TAJIK
10-27-2012, 05:57 AM