PDA

View Full Version : Can't recommend this school as a recent grad...

sabastudent123456
04-24-2012, 10:19 AM
I thought I'd come on here and give people some of my opinions - I am a recent 5th semester grad. This is going to be a really long post but hopefully it will give future applicants something real to base their decision on. If you want more info, please feel free to PM me. The basic summary: Don't go to Saba, go somewhere else even if it costs more.

In my 1st or 2nd semester, I would have still told my friends or colleagues to come to Saba, but now I can't do that anymore. This school has gone overboard in terms of failing and cutting people out. Now I know that people will just call me a whiner or tell me that those students can't handle it or w/e, but I just don't think that's the case anymore. I was fortunate to make it through all 5 semesters without a hiccup...wasn't even close to failing anything ever. But when I hear about the exams and class averages of the semesters below me, it is definitely a concern. I don't know that I'd even make it through anymore with the way it is now...I'll give some reasons about why I'm not a fan of this school anymore:

Students are failing courses like micro because they end up with 74.x - yes, technically there has to be a cutoff, but what I don't get is if these students could pass with an 85 or 90 on the presentation in micro, why not give it to them so they can pass? But nope, this school won't do something like that. They'd rather fail the kids - and at least for us and the semester below the presentation grades wouldn't even get posted until after shelf grades are back so it would be easy to adjust the presentations and let people pass.