PDA

View Full Version : Questions about doctor's life in Australia by an European med school grad

jiricz
04-08-2012, 08:28 AM
Hey guys. I'm sorry about posting slightly different and longer topic here, but I have some important questions. I tried to google it, of course, but it's not very easy to assemble an image about doctor's life in Australia just by reading non corresponding forum topics or government papers. So I hope some of you might find a few minutes to help me answer my questions.

I'm a med student from Czech Republic, Charles University in Prague. I'd love to move to one of Australia's big cities (Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide). But I don't know how it works there for fresh post-graduates. Let me tell you how it works here. I'm ending the university next year with an MUDr. degree (the same as M.D.). Then I'd need to get a job at some bigger hospital which would allow me to enter a training program (it's like a regular job, you work, you get paid, you have significant amount of responsibility etc.). I chose neurosurgery, which is 2 years of general surgery (exam) and 5 years of neurosurgery (exam).

I heard about two possibilities I though they're fair - I either ask for conditional registration and I start a training program just like every other australian post graduate (which would be 8 years instead of 7 years back home) or I find some place looking for doctors and I start there as a registrar, they'd ask for my conditional registration as an overseas trainee. What does that mean - registrar - can I get this position as a fresh post graduate? And these two possibilities, is it really truth?