PDA

View Full Version : To go or not to go...

PotentialChiro
02-14-2012, 12:15 PM
I have been considering Chiropractic school for a couple years. I'm a massage therapist and personal trainer, and I love working for myself.
I've visited a number of schools, and I would be choosing between Western States, Palmer West and maybe Northwestern. The Choice of school however is not my main concern with this post.
I am aware of the problems within the profession. While I'm not overly concerned with what others think, the debt load of chiropractic school does scare me. I've talked with many Chiropractors in my state(Wisc) and some are doing well, while others are just doing ok. Most get by just fine however and very few paint an entirely negative picture of the profession.
I'm convinced that chiropractic would be the perfect profession for me. I feel the need to further my education, and I'm not interested in medical school (nor do I have the undergrad stats to apply). I am very much interested in assesing and treating musculoskeletal disorders. I do this in my practice as a massage therapist and personal trainer but I need to expand my skill set, I will never be satisfied with my current station in life.
A couple of the therapists in my town that seem to be doing well are practicing in a manner similar to what I envision for my start up practice. They work attached to health clubs in small rooms and have very low overhead. The work primarily without a receptionist and use diversified techniques, ART and corrective exercise primarily. They also have primarily cash based practices. One is in his 50s and has been at it for some time, he has nothing but good things to say and gets lot of referrals from MDs. The other is in his 30s and has been very successful in his first 5 years of practice, he is trying to convince me to go to palmer west where he went (good sports club).