PDA

View Full Version : Advice on studying in Poland

11-26-2011, 09:37 AM
Hi, i'm currently a high school student in the u.s. i've wanted to study medicine in poland ever since i was little (to be closer to my whole family). I've gone on a lot of websites searching for the best medical university, but they are all based on opinions. Does anyone know (statistically) which ones are the best? Also, i need some advice ;). I have a both polish and american passport because my mom is polish and i go to poland in the summer. I can speak, read and write in polish, but i'm not sure if it is enough to study in polish. so... i'd like to study in english. if i wanted to study medicine in poland, where would i go to college before medical school? would it be smarter to do college here in the u.s. before going to med school in poland? i do want to go to a higher ranked school. Does my g.p.a in high school really matter? (because i have a 4.0, but im not sure if thats enough ;)) Thank you soooo much!

shsmatherUJ
11-26-2011, 11:09 AM
I would say jagiellonian university in krakow or Poznan...Both have 6 year programs in English so you can start after high school...in my opinion Jagiellonian is the best medical school in Poland and it has affiliations with hospitals in the US for rotations...
Hope this helps:)

bidiboom
11-26-2011, 11:57 AM
i have a 4.0, but im not sure if thats enough ;)

Cool ;)

Here is a blog(there are other schools as well):
Medical Schools: Jagiellonian / Poland (http://medical-schools.blogspot.com/2011/09/jagiellonian-poland.html)

And yes, Jagiellonian is considered as the best in Poland and in the region. But there are other options as well, like

1) having your education in one the West European schools, which are in quality better than E-EU schools and having a leg in your beautiful Poland :) you may visit anytime you have an opportunity. But W_EU med schools offer only native programs, so one needs to know the native language of the country.