PDA

View Full Version : An SMU Alumnus checking in... (visiting dorms today!)

MDMBA999
09-19-2011, 11:38 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm currently visiting Grand Cayman for the 2nd time since I graduated a few years ago.

Some background about me: SMU grad a few years ago (part of the Hurricane Ivan crew who ended up evacuating to Maine), did an FM residency and ended up practicing mainly EM. Now I'm faculty at a major hospital's FM Residency program and I'm also a Medical Director of an Emergency Department at a different hospital.

I walked into the dorms (original dorms..next to Captain's) and came across 3 eager medical students (2 were 4th semesters and one guy was a 5th)... they all seemed pretty eager to know what "it's like after leaving the island" and what to expect in clinical rotations and residency and the USMLEs Step 1 and 2 (told them about Step 3 being much easier than the other 2 and they seemed amazed)...

It was definitey nice seeing them, I gave them a booklist for USMLE Step1 and some advice about what to expect in clinicals and beyond.

I will tell you this though..the dorms have changed. There's much less people there as compared to before (because the loan situation is non-existant), but there's always the same concerns.... what to know for Step 1, clinicals, California issues...

One piece of advice is this: