PDA

View Full Version : Should I matriculate to Saba?

firstmed
07-21-2011, 11:07 AM
Hi,

I am a recently accepted student to Saba starting in the Fall Sem 2011. I have been accepted to SGU and did not bother applying to Ross for attrition and I did not know many AUC grads at the hospital I worked at for a few years. I was particularly attracted to Saba because of its small class size (coming from a small lib arts college in the US), good preparation for USMLE step I (if you complete basic science program), and some alumni I have come to learn of because of my parents. Until recently I was excited about attending Saba in the fall however, I have heard that there is such a strong weeding out process from others on this forum. I am forced to ask my questions on this site due to my doubts of attending. I hear people say that even if you are a strong student you may not pass each semester of the basic sciences. I have contacted alumni and have heart that very few if only a handful of students in their class failed out (4-5) in the first couple semesters or basic science program alone. I talked to admissions and they state 5% attrition due to poor academic performance and 15-20% for all other reasons. The clinical science dept also told me they have enough clinical spots for all the students they accept (approx. 100) for the fall. Don't get me wrong I am not scared of the competition or rigor of the medical program, just skeptical about attending if the institution has participated in false advertizing... Here are my questions.

To the most recent classes Summer, Spring or Last Fall semesters:
1. What is the actual attrition due to academic reasons (thats how I define it)? How many fail a course like anatomy or histology/ biochem or physiology? etc.
2. How many exams are there per semester? I know there are 5 blocks right?
3. How many end up failing the 5th semester Comprehensive Exam before the USMLE?