PDA

View Full Version : Residency chances after graduating

bhavitski
07-22-2010, 05:48 PM
I'm a third year student trying to calculate the dangers of coming to Saba. Lets say for arguement's sake that after coming to Saba you pass everything and get a score of 80 on the Step 1. How likely are you to get ANY residency in the States as a Canadian student (I'm not picky at all)? What is the match percentage of all Saba students that actually make it this far and pass the Step 1 on their first try?

I'm trying to gauge what risks there are even after passing everything and doing all you can to get good scores ie. what is out of your hands.

Thanks a lot

sgMD
07-22-2010, 06:33 PM
if you make it through the basic sciences, there is a 90% chance that you will match in either US or Canada. (which is the highest rate amongst the caribbean medical schools).

But what do you mean by a score of 80? You mean 80th percentile? I think the average for Saba is around 220 on step1.

devildoc8404
07-22-2010, 06:50 PM
USMLE 2-digit score is not a percentile, it's a... well... it's a 2-digit score. (That's a common misconception, but it ain't a percentile.)

You get a 3-digit score, and you get a corollated 2-digit score, but I don't think I have ever seen a decent description of how that 2-digit number is calculated. It can even vary, with the same 3-digit score tallying different 2-digit scores during different times of the year.

sgMD
07-22-2010, 07:38 PM
cool... thank you for the useful info... I am not sure what 220 would translate in a 2 digit score... does anyone know?

bhavitski
07-22-2010, 08:15 PM
Whoa, so you have a 10% of throwing away four years and $150k even if you do everything right? Thats pretty high...where are you getting this 90% from?

By the step 1 score I just meant getting an average score.

sgMD
07-22-2010, 08:21 PM