PDA

View Full Version : To redshifteffect

JoshG
12-17-2009, 02:50 PM
Hello,

I want to thank you two for your posts so far; I have found them very informative. I couldn't send you a private message with my questions because of my low post count. What follows was the intended message. To any other Canadians practicing over there that have a firm grasp on the system, feel free to contribute as well. Just please don't post speculative information, the internet is full of that already.

Thank you!
---------------
Hello,

I am a Canadian, who is seriously considering coming to Australia, even if I can get in a Canadian med program. I would be interested in studying in Australia, and remaining in Australia permanently.

I just have some questions, as this decision is a huge one with a lot of variables.

I am a Canadian undergraduate student completing two degrees right now. I am interested in coming to Australia for medical school, but not as a back up plan. I'd like to study there, live there, and work there. However, I hear so much about how I could go to Australia, end up with 250k in debt, with no job... and hence a degree that won't do much for me in Australia or Canada. I hear this is an even bigger problem with Australia upping the amount of seats in med schools (doubled over 4 years?). This worries me.

Lets assume I am an average student in med school, as statistics would suggest I am likely to be about that (though I will try to be better). English is my first language, say I do all of my clinicals/electives in Australia (which I would), and I am under 44 years of age (I read this is important). Assuming that I am just an average med student from Canada, am I likely to be allowed to live and practice in Australia... despite the massive increase in med school seats? Assume I am applying 2-3 years from now for med school.