PDA

View Full Version : Interview for Queensland

i_love_cheese
12-14-2009, 07:14 PM
Hi There!

I'm wondering what the interview process is like.

I'm a Canadian student interested in applying for January 2011.
Do you automatically get an interview once you meet the cutoff (8/8/8/M) or do you need 30+ to be granted an interview?
Also, What kinds of questions do they ask in the interview? The OZTREK site gave me the impression that they don't actually ask you questions, they merely use the interview as a way to inform you about their school, rather than a weeding out process.

Please help me
Thanks in advance:D

OzTREKK
12-17-2009, 12:57 PM
G'day i_love_cheese,

Actually, there is no interview at the University of Queensland. Admission in to the University of Queensland's medical program has two requirements, which are assessed on a 'hurdle' basis. Meaning if you clear one hurdle, you move on to the next.

Firstly, you need to meet the minimum GPA requirement. If you have met the GPA requirement, then (secondly) you must meet the MCAT requirement. If you meet both, then you have met the requirements to receive an offer in to the program. At that point, you will either receive an offer or not receive an offer in to the program depending on how many places are available at the time that your application is assessed. Hence it is a 'rolling' admissions process.

The University of Queensland no longer conducts interviews for admission. I believe 2007 was the last time that an interview was conducted as part of the admissions process. In 2008, the School of Medicine changed the interview to a consultation. What this meant is that you already received an offer and you had an opportunity to speak with one of the academics and clinicians at the School of Medicine to find out more about the course and program prior to deciding as to whether or not you wished to accept the offer.