PDA

View Full Version : Intern prospects for P4 priority group in QLD

prospectiveQLD
06-24-2009, 02:12 PM
I am a prospective student for the UQ MBBS program 2010 intake. Though I have yet to accept my offer, I was wondering if I can clear out some questions regarding internships for the P4 priority group. It is my understanding that securing an internship spot is becoming increasingly difficult for the international students from UQ.

I have yet to find any hard-facts concerning P4 students applying for internships. I e-mailed the School of Medicine and the reply is as follows:

"The allocation of graduates to the intern places are coordinated by an online system across the state. Last years applications exceeded the number of available places by about 300, this year so far about 700 applications have been received (for approx. 550 places), thus exceeding again.

Qld Health is very positive about the possibility of our P5ís (International students) receiving Qld intern places, so they are encouraging everyone to apply. Qld Health recognises the quality education UQ students receive.
Our understanding is the P1ís will receive their offers and Qld Health will fill so many places, then P2 through P8 students will preference again based on where the places left exist.