PDA

View Full Version : Low gpa wanting to go to med someday. I need advice.

mvpkobe
06-21-2009, 04:38 PM
Hi everyone,
I studied at Australia for one year graduate entry in nursing. Being out of the home country for the first time in my life, I had a hard time adjusting and didn't got a high gpa on the semester. I am thinking of pursuing medicine in the future
My qualifications are:
Degree : Bachelor of Nursing Science ( Grad entry) - australia
Duration : one year
GPA: 4.75

I read on a medical schools website that if the GPA is below 5.0, they are advising not to apply. I already know about the other requirements like GAMSAT and interviews, the only thing worrying me is the GPA.
I have a choice now of studying biomedical science, I will really purse to have high GPA this time.
Is it much better for me to study again to have that high GPA or I will do just fine in applying with my current GPA.
Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers =)

dadoc
06-22-2009, 03:29 AM
Blow away the GAMSAT and then you'll be able to explain the low GPA. Dont expect to get into USyd or ANU. Try JCU or UWS or Griffith.

mvpkobe
06-22-2009, 05:04 AM
Thank you dadoc. I really want to go to University of Queensland.

redshifteffect
06-24-2009, 08:45 PM
Why UQ?

it's not that great a school...any particular reason you want to go there?

mvpkobe
06-26-2009, 09:47 PM
Because when I was doing my placements as a student nurse, most interns came from UQ they told me it's a great school and because Im here in Queensland. Why do you think it's not a great school? Any school you recommend? Cheers.

redshifteffect
06-27-2009, 03:46 AM