CARICOM-MED
06-08-2009, 10:57 AM
UHSA 20 months Clinicals and ACGME Hospital Requirements
As a graduate, I had the opportunity to do my clerkship in ACGME Hospitals

Please make sure that:
1. Rotations are ACGME Hospitals
2. You have Student Medical Malpractice Insurance at ALL times
3. Obtain Good LOR from at least 3 Mentors in your desired specialty
4. Pass USMLE Step 1 before your clinicals !!!

Here is a list of Hospitals posted at UHSA website:
University of Health Sciences Antigua Medical Synopsis - Hospital Affiliations (http://www.uhsa.ag/synopsis/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=413&Itemid=30)

Core Rotations: 48 weeks
Elective Rotations: 30 weeks

Combined Total: 78 weeks of Clinical Hands On Experience !!!

Cheers :)

romanl
12-10-2009, 09:36 AM
In order to enhance the clinical sites in London, UHSA is closing agreements of collaboration with several hospitals in London. Actually UHSA has a considerable number of students from Europe and Africa that are requesting sites that would not require extensive traveling to do their clinical sciences portion of the medical curriculum.

UHSA is with this innitiative living its motto of "Medical School to the World".

CARICOM-MED
02-23-2010, 07:57 AM
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

romanl
02-23-2010, 09:00 AM
The University of Health Sciences Antigua has been giving service to the community in issues not only related to health UHSADOC. Services also given to the government have been also put in place as a way to express the intention of the school to collaborate to the healthy development of the community. Our Dean is actively working with these programs and looking ways to develop new programs that will benefit the community.

In regards of the shortage, there is a population of aprox 72,000.00 in Antigua. You can find a considerable amount of doctors in Antigua, please visit this site, Antigua & Barbuda - Doctors (http://www.caribbeanonlineyellowpages.com/listings_4/4_category_D_3020.html)