PDA

View Full Version : Admission - Educated Guesses Welcomed :)

Hello Dr Nick!
04-26-2009, 02:08 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm a german student (Premed) currently enrolled at an average american university. I plan on finishing my bachelors by the end of 09.

My stats are:

-3.9 GPA
-Take MCAT in May so the results will hopefully be in by the end of june.
-Short Internships in germany and the US
-Worked in the healthcare field since I was 16.

But here is the catch:
If I graduate as planned it took me 2.5 years to for my bachelor's (Just turned 21) and I wonder if that will be taken into consideration since I've been told thats relatively fast. Due to that pretty tight schedule I took on, I have almost no Extracurriculars besides a 4 month period in which I helped a native american organization to maintain cultural sites on the weekends.
Also, I have a strong international/intercultural background.

This all then comes down to:

-I don't know my Mcat scores when I apply since they will be released pretty much on the application deadlines.
-How about my lack of Extracurriculars?

So should I give it a shot and apply this summer for "spring" 2010?

My school of choice would be ANU or U of Sydney but I'm flexible in that regard.

Wollongong looks good as well, maybe Lyndal can help ?

0jhh
06-04-2009, 02:54 PM
Hey there,
Guten Tag, wie geht's? I am an international student currently doing medicine in Australia (4th yr), I entered as an undergraduate though into the U of Melbourne. I thought I might put my 2 cents in though... :)

Basically from what I understand, international students do the MCATs or the GAMSATs to enter a graduate stream (4 - 4.5yrs). I would consider Go8 universities safe although many incl. UoNewcastle and other postgrad meds are quite good. USyd and ANU are excellent schools, I personally know the prof that was involved in establishing the USyd programme.