PDA

View Full Version : Getting married: Transferring medical schools, Canada to UK

devinaw
10-09-2008, 10:17 PM
Hey everyone,

I would love any input since i am in a bit of a dilemma, i am a first year medical student in Canada, and my boyfriend and I are getting married, he lives in the UK and i still have 3 years ahead of me. Are there any possibilities of transferring to a medical school in the UK? Of course i will be a british/ EU citizen so international student issues are not a problem. But would transfers from a canadian medical school be accepted?

Thanks so much, any advice would be much loved.

siheg
10-09-2008, 10:34 PM
Where abouts are you re-locating? If it were me, I would just ride out the 3 years in Canada.

diogenes
10-11-2008, 02:12 PM
I agree with mellsworth21 that staying in Canada might be the best or most likely option for a number of reasons.

Check out the citizenship issue in detail with the High Commission - I thought you needed to be UK-resident for 3 years?
Check out separately the precise UK university rules on international student criteria versus home student.
Quality med. schools all over the world are rather mean when it comes to transfers - they don't like it.
You might get in, but be required to start over again. The schools may cite differences in the curriculum as justification.
Be aware that the majority of our med. courses are 5-year. Graduate entry 4-year courses only began a few years ago.

If you do decide to go ahead send a really good CV with references to a number of target universities. Do not rely solely on compassionate grounds ("I want to be with my husband"). Rather, persuade them that you will be an asset to their course: admissions tutors are always on the lookout for the exceptional person who will bring character, unusual experiences or intellect to their cohort of students.

TheSpiritOfTruth
03-04-2009, 04:33 AM
Hi devinaw,