PDA

View Full Version : I've given up 30 credits from a university and start all over again in AUA...

HAN_
08-21-2008, 03:25 AM
I just got accept and will be in Antigua for the Sept. 2008.

But I'm too worried about my choice... kinda taking a challenge...

Jumping in to premed 1, without BA/**, or even AA/AS degree...

Can I postpone to go to AUA till at least I get AA or AS degree ?

Is there anyone who can give me advice ?

I know that I have only three weeks left... and don't have enough time to think too much...

But I'm really worried that I could be a doctor without or.. at least with less discrimination...

Give me advice people...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm not an american... but I'm studying in the US though.

I've heard that being accepted by a medical school in the US is almost impossible as long as i don't have a citizenship... or at least green card.

Tha'ts why I applied to AUA.

And... I'm 22 years old, but still a sophomor here (american university).

(My age is considered as an old age in my country and 4+4 system is too long for me...)

Well... Please give me comments to my edited tread :confused:

Jay Lash
08-21-2008, 03:51 AM
Stay and study. With only 30 hours complete, you can rock your GPA and the MCAT, get into a US med school and have less to worry about. Caribbean schools come after exhausting other options.

logik15
08-21-2008, 04:37 AM
i agree with jay lash... if you just started undergrad with 30 credits... just go the whole way and get good grades and get a great mcat score and stay in the states. Don't settle for anything less until you absolutely have too or decide to have a career change and its too late. I also hear having a ** is considered for residency placement so you may want to consider that. if you want to be a doctor asap... then i suppose the pre-med route is the way to go... but personally 32 months on the island is wayyy too much for me.

sreec