PDA

View Full Version : Scimd

GEM29
11-01-2007, 10:34 AM
What's currently going on with the SCIMD?

Does St. christopher's college of med./MUA Belize still exist ?

TAFKA
11-10-2007, 05:27 PM
I am a graduate of SCIMD. I am currently completing residency in an extremely competitive medical discipline at a well respected US hospital (multiple listings in US News & World Report's list of Top 50 Hospitals). My scores on the USMLE steps 1, 2, and 3 were 99, 87, and 98, respectively. I published in both US and British peer-reviewed journals during med school. SCIMD was my second med school (I transferred from a Caribbean school). The quality of education (which is often attacked on this website by individuals never enrolled at the school) was excellent. I wasn't one of those nurses-turned-doctor who already knew everything going into med school and I attribute my success to the education I got at SCIMD. As for the alleged problems with accreditation and oversight, SCIMD in the UK is one of two legitimate colleges of medicine within a larger Senegalese university system. The only problems I encountered obtaining a residency position, ECFMG certification, or training license were those encountered by all foreign medical graduates: higher application fees, longer delays in paperwork, and fewer interview offers than my counterparts who graduated from American medical schools. What I hear UNOFFICIALLY from current students is that very impressive strides have recently been made by the current administration to undo some of the damage that was done to the college's reputation by the former administration. Good luck to anyone considering this or any other foreign medical school; you'll have to be a little sharper, harder working, more professional, and more personable than graduates of American medical schools with similar (or even worse) stats to beat them out for residency positions.

teratos
11-10-2007, 07:06 PM