PDA

View Full Version : 2 yrs of College then med school??

FutureMD46
08-25-2007, 12:18 AM
Hi
Im a soon to be student at Xavier Bonaire and was wondering what everybody thought of a college student, 2 years in, going to the island and finishing up their requirements for the 90 hours in one semester and then starting their medical program. The reason for me skipping out on college is because i have the opportunity to speed up my medical career. I also have no chance in hell of getting into an american medical program. I know the owners of this school and they are all accomplished doctors in the united states, and their curriculum is based on the NEOUCOM program. I know that the professors have all taught in the US as well. My biggest concern is not getting my **. Is that going to have any barring on residency chances or will that work to my advantage in seeing that i am ambitious.

Honestly, my choices are stick out another 2-3 years in the states to finish my ** and then apply to medical schools, or go here for 4 years and cut of 3 years of schooling and be able to start my career sooner than most.

Opinions please...

PS Im not indian or pakistani and my parents have never harbored my dream of becoming a physician they have shunned it.

khsyed
08-25-2007, 02:09 AM
very good questions?

Dr. Diva
09-04-2007, 11:07 PM
I think if you are very passionate about becoming a DR. then you should perhaps attend Xavier...i know im in the same boat as you that i have no chance in hell gettin in with all the competition there is in the US. Plus, you have a better chance of workin your butt off in xavier and shinning then goin to a undergrad that has over 100 in you same major who are also tryin to apply for med skul. If your a US citizen and you do well on ur USMILE's and shine in your class. i doubt that u wud have a residency prob. but i dunno, my opinion.

dr.diva

jameslynton
09-21-2007, 08:42 AM
Hi