PDA

View Full Version : Passed! My story

bluemed
10-17-2006, 04:17 AM
I passed, took the test sept 18,19 and got my score today: 204/84!!! First time taking it. Passed all steps first shot. I studied three weeks using USMLE world like a fanatic. Wrote down notes on all the questions I got wrong and from the answer explanations. Did the same for Kaplan lecture notes and exams. Memorized those. Also did CRUSH until I knew it back and forth. Qbank was too easy after doing UW but I still took notes on those questions. I studied about 17 hours a day for all of those three weeks taking a break only the sat night two days before the test.
The first blocks on day one went smoothly. Straightforward, there were questions on it that seemed right off of UW. Maybe five questions per block i had question marks by. Now be warned, time is definitely an issue!!!! Watch the clock and pace yourself. If you are spending more than a minute on a question, put a choice, mark it and move on. Then go back to those question marks and use remaining time to think about them more. I don't know how others are, but with me, i usually narrow down to two answers, and always pick the wrong one first about 80% of the time. So going back and changing answers has always worked in my favor.
Day 2: The blocks were much much harder. I had four questionson macular degeneration alone: one a fundoscopic pic with dresden spots, another an old lady in clinic unable to read lines, and two more clinical descriptions. I struggled on the blocks b/c a lot of the questions did not seem as straightforward and very very nitpicky.
CCS: All my cases ended quickly.
1. Classic MI, however, complicated b/c patient presented with CHF sx. Just went through protocol and order cardiac cath, plus put her on a beta blocker, ace inhibitor, lasix statin, aspirin - the typical drill.
2. Office kid with iron defiiency anemia. Gave him ferrous sulfate and f/u checking H/H which kept going up and he kept feeling better.