PDA

View Full Version : How long has AUA been around?

Just Thinkin'
08-05-2006, 03:37 PM
Heya everyone, I'm new to all of this. I was hoping someone could help me out. From the AUA website it says something like since 2001? But IMED stated 2004. Did AUA begin as a med school in 2004?:confused: Can it get approval in NYC in like 2 years?

Additionally, what does it mean by approval if no one has applied for residency or licensing yet? Or have they had graduates already and I just have the wrong date of establishment?:rolleyes:
Thanks.

sreec
08-05-2006, 03:56 PM
I think AUA opened its doors in January 2004. That makes us the youngest medical school by far to get accreditation by the state of New York. We have one graduate. I'm sure that he/she will apply for residency, shortly :p.

dr2004usa
08-05-2006, 05:47 PM
Heya everyone, I'm new to all of this. I was hoping someone could help me out. From the AUA website it says something like since 2001? But IMED stated 2004. Did AUA begin as a med school in 2004?:confused: Can it get approval in NYC in like 2 years?

Additionally, what does it mean by approval if no one has applied for residency or licensing yet? Or have they had graduates already and I just have the wrong date of establishment?:rolleyes:
Thanks.
Plans started in 2001 , then 2004 classes began.

Accredittion for NY means that the school can place the students in clinicals for more than 12 weeks.
And probably residency, but I believe that any IMED school graduate can apply for residency and definetly license in NY.
The first graduate among the others soon to follow transfered to AUA.

det310
08-05-2006, 06:06 PM
What about Illinois, and Michigan.. is it approved in thei states?

dr2004usa
08-05-2006, 06:12 PM
These states have are friendly approach with FMG. AUA offers clinicals in CHicago and soon will in MI. THe only States that have an approval process :
CA, NY, FL, NJ ( AUA is alreeady working on last too). you can't practice in KS before 2018.