PDA

View Full Version : Are people missing the point?

MrC
03-15-2006, 07:12 AM
I’m a med student at a genuine British school and I must admit that regardless of the charter issues, the lack of eternal oversight (according to the BBC report) ensuring the quality of education is incredibly worrying.

It seems all the discussions here focuses on charter issues, but not on the lack of objective evidence demonstrating the quality of education at medical schools run as a business. I know I certainly wouldn’t want to be treated by a graduate of a medical school that issues degrees without any objective assessment to assure the graduate has met a competent standard, regardless of whether their medical school was charted in America or Africa.

I do accept, as mentioned previously, that the current St. Chris situation could cause a political response, however not due to media hype or precedent it would set but rather the public want to ensure the doctors treating them are competent and standardised testing such as PLAB or USMLE cannot be relied upon to test total competency.

CorporateRaider
03-15-2006, 07:31 AM
Dear Mr. C:

Thank you for your insight.

Speaking for the Corporate Raider:

So far the academic merits or lack of them have not come into question. It would be difficult (impossible?) in a forum like this to hash such issues (academic oversight) because such issues are handled by the administration of St. Christopher's and not by the students.

If there is any academic oversight and to what degree there is academic oversight and by whom is that academic oversight conducted.....the world may never know.

###
03-15-2006, 07:33 AM

###
03-15-2006, 07:36 AM

CorporateRaider
03-15-2006, 07:49 AM
That is the point. How can we discuss something we don't have hard data available on?

Rumor has it that St. Christopher's students do very well on their exams.

MrC
03-15-2006, 08:08 AM