Sponsored Links
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    the game is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    29
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Falcon Physician's review step 1

    Advertisements



    Hi, Can anyone who took falcon share their experience with it?

    Thank You

  2. #2
    AUCMD2013 is offline Senior Member 527 points
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    600
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Everyone who I spoke to that took it said it's a complete waste of time. They said it's for people who didn't learn basic sciences too well. ALso said that the amount of time spent in class is too long and the method utilized (record yourself etc...) isn't optimal. Some people need structure while others study best on their own.
    American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine Graduate

    Basic Sciences [X] Step 1 [X] Step 2 CS [X] Step 2 CK [X] Cores [X] Electives [X] Match [X] M.D. Diploma [X] Step 3 [X] IM Residency [X] Medical license [X] Internal medicine boards ABIM [X] Board certified practicing Hospitalist [Hidden Content ]

  3. #3
    RfisherMD is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,065
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yea, I agree. Some like it, some don't. I, personally, don't feel that it was incredibly helpful and might have spent my time more efficiently elsewhere.
    AUC c/o 2013
    FM resident

  4. #4
    Slaol's Avatar
    Slaol is offline Elite Member 7164 points
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    2,846
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Took Falcon last summer.

    For me, it was worth the money to have a private & quiet place to study for 7 weeks. There are literally no distractions and the sleep number bed means you will get a good night's rest every night.

    The course itself was hit-or-miss, depending on the instructor. I thought Dr. G's pathology was excellent (despite the off-color comments), as were some of the physio professors. There were, however, a few sections that I thought were a waste of time - behavioral and neuro being two of them (AUC instruction is way beyond what is on Step I).

    I did think the Falcon method of recording and playing back your study materials did help my recall of the material (so much so that I actually recorded and reviewed the entire Rapid Review Path and First Aid).

    I improved significantly on my scores from the assessment taken on Day I to the actual exam, but I attribute it more to getting off the island/having several weeks of zero distraction than I do to the actual course.

    In short, I am glad that I took the course. I was able to pass with a score I feel happy about. Whether or not you will benefit from the course depends on your learning style and study environment at home.
    Last edited by Slaol; 04-29-2011 at 06:59 AM.
    - Slaol
    http://corbinmd.blogspot.com/

    American University of the Caribbean (AUC) class of 2012

    Chief Resident Family Medicine
    Hennepin County Medical Center

  5. #5
    st3ady's Avatar
    st3ady is offline Member 511 points
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    182
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    can you explain more about this recording method you speak of? Do you just record yourself reading the material out loud and then listen to it over and over? thanks

  6. #6
    dorito111 is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    92
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Falcon

    Falcon was a huge waste of time. I felt so great about the education that we received in SXM after sitting through the course- where some of the other students were hearing things for the first time that we knew down cold!!
    The hotel that it's in now doesn't have the sleep # beds- it's in a horrible area with nothing to do. The food was disgusting, the shuttle service was a joke, the gym machines were older than me (although i hear they were getting new ones), with class & reviewing what you went over that day there was barely time for questions, the sections that I used FA instead of their stuff I knew so much better by the time I got home...
    Overall if you need someone to teach you all of ** then I would say go for it. Otherwise your time/money/sanity is better spent somewhere else.

  7. #7
    RfisherMD is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,065
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, like dorito said, they moved it to a different hotel (actually a Holiday Inn motel) that is clearly cheaper for them and there are less amenities. The beds are OK, but not great, the gym is very small and has little more than a treadmill and 2 broken stair-climbers. The internet is unreliable and at its best is SLOWER THAN SXM! The food is awful and very repetitive. The shuttle is unreliable and takes about 1-2 hours from the time of the request to take you anywhere. It is little more than a quiet place to study.

    Because falcon is using this motel for the foreseeable future, the staff is supposedly adding better things like fiber optic internet, but that remains to be seen.

    And, st3ady, yeah that is basically it.
    AUC c/o 2013
    FM resident

  8. #8
    AUCMD2012's Avatar
    AUCMD2012 is offline Senior Member 520 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    621
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the game View Post
    Hi, Can anyone who took falcon share their experience with it?

    Thank You
    Do yourself a favor and attend PASS program Champaign, IL

    Board Certified Internal Medicine (8/2015)



  9. #9
    Tour is offline Newbie 510 points
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi I wanted to know if u hv the falcon firstaid 2011 and all the falcon video? If so message me hot_brown_chick17 hotmail

  10. #10
    wsu2013's Avatar
    wsu2013 is offline Junior Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    33
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not a bad request.. Do you guys by chance still have your RR / Falcon-Goljan recordings from your time there to offer to fellow AUCers prepping on the island? Maybe could upload them to mediafire or the likes?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Falcon Review for step 2
    By texas74 in forum USMLE Step 2 CK Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2010, 11:40 AM
  2. Step 1 Falcon Review Books
    By islander23 in forum St. Georges University School of Medicine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2008, 09:51 PM
  3. NEED HELP!!! Falcon Review vs. Kaplan for usmle step 1
    By buste003 in forum USMLE Step 1 Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2007, 07:50 AM
  4. any information on falcon review course for step one?
    By che949 in forum USMLE Step 1 Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2004, 01:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •