|
|
||||
|
AAIMG unmasked--some info for those who wonder
Well, at their corporate office you find:
http://www.bioskincare.com/policy.htm Andes Natural - Bio Skin Care Certified Seller Safe, Honest, & Guaranteed: 1802 North Carson St. Suite 212, Carson City, Nevada 89701, USA Phone 1-702-947-0567 Fax 775-201 0294 No one answers the phone. also http://rosehipoil.com/ http://abate-stretch-marks.com/ http://abateit.com/ What's my guess? well, these people are from Chile I think.....trying to think of a connection? maybe they are consumer advocates? who knows...I'll have a friend of mine go and visit them and find out the story with a digital picture. az skeptic |
|
|||
|
No, it looks more like a private post box...
I suggest that you do a Google search on 1802 North Carson Street Suite 212; you will find 945 listings, some relevant, some not.
The four numbers that follow Suite 212 are far more interesting. It seems that there are any number of organizations using the Suite 212-XXXX address. This makes me suspect that it is more like a private post box (like Mailboxes, but a little more prestigious); so that the organization can retain a degree of anonymity. |
|
|||
|
DNS lookup
DNS lookup on aaimg.com:
Domain Name: AAIMG.COM Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC. Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com Name Server: NS0.XNAME.ORG Name Server: NS5.SPB.RU Status: ACTIVE Updated Date: 19-nov-2003 Creation Date: 02-nov-1999 Expiration Date: 02-nov-2006 Note the Russian DNS -- doesn't have to be, but is a good indication that the organization/owner is in Russia. |
|
|||
|
I don't agree with that analysis
In this day and age of global telecommunications, anyone can host anywhere...
(This is the reason that so many back office positions have 'migrated' to places like India.) Just because the name server is in Russia, does not mean that the organization is. A friend of mine from the US set up his on-line website through a Serbian company, simply for reasons of cost. The Serbs were 50% cheaper than the American ones. His whois lookup is similar. So, until someone identifies Thomas Moore MD or the others listed on the site and the papers of incorporation, we will not know who they are. I, for one, am willing to take them at face value, though some of the information on the site is dated or the result of a single encounter with the given school. However, their basic message: "Check out the school in person and unsupervised" remains (IMHO) valid. |
|
|||
|
ya but
As I said, the site doesn't have to be, but is likely Russian. Sure, one can register anywhere, but to go out of the way to get a .ru DNS is counterproductive. One can be just as secretive yet appear less shady by registering in the US, EU, etc.
The cost to register is trivial anywhere, and about the same as the site is still .com. -pitman |
|
|||
|
IMHO
it is simply a technical question. The guy that sets up the site is a Russian, and he is familiar with a Russian DNS because all his other clients get to use it by default as well, so he assigns it to his new client (aaimg).
I simply do not see how you can use that to link ownership. The papers of incorporation, on the other hand, are pretty solid evidence with regards to who is behind the site for legal reasons (both for VAL-U-CORP as well as the incorporated). |
|
|||
|
ya but
Not a technical question, is a behavioral one.
I'm not questioning the legal corp. registration location. I couldn't care less about that, I'd be far more interested in from where the parties of interest have arisen! My point about the DNS is that connections are not made randomly. The Russian connection is not a coincidence. You are more likely to attribute it to some cost-effective measure, I am more inclined to see it as a fair indication of social or economic relationship with Russian interests. Has to do with how we view behavior on a *probabilistic* level. Mine arises from my experience in Web development and behaviorism, yours from your own experience. -pitman |
|
|||
|
Who is Andrew Demkin? (The Russian Connection!)
If we do a whois lookup on http://registrar.godaddy.com we find that the technical and administrative contact is:
Registrant: AAIMG 1802 N. Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701 United States Registered through: GoDaddy.com Domain Name: AAIMG.COM Created on: 02-Nov-99 Expires on: 02-Nov-06 Last Updated on: 19-Nov-03 Administrative Contact: Demkin, Andrew demkin@hotmail.com 60, Moika emb. apt.33 Saint-Petersburg, 90000 RUS +7 812 3147397 Fax -- +7 812 3147397 Technical Contact: Demkin, Andrew demkin@hotmail.com 60, Moika emb. apt.33 Saint-Petersburg, 90000 RUS +7 812 3147397 Fax -- +7 812 3147397 Domain servers in listed order: NS5.SPB.RU NS0.XNAME.ORG A google search on Andrew Demkin returns the following pages: http://www.nausoft.net/eng/ which lists that "Dr. Andrew Demkin founded company in 1997 as a research and software development facility. The main offices are located in Fresno, CA U.S.A. Hamburg, Germany and in Saint Petersburg, Russia." http://www.sennaya.com/private/ which seems to indicate that he is a manager for "Sennaya Square Apartment in Historic Saint Petersburg, Russia" I would be curious if anyone could find out more... |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
|
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| aaimg website claims st. james to be one of the schools with | archanapatel | St. James Medical School | 10 | 03-05-2004 11:49 PM |
| Maybe Kigezi Really Is Fraudulent | C. Ellis | Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum | 5 | 12-12-2003 03:06 PM |
| The AAIMG evaluation for MUA topic is scaring me. Will someo | EMD2BE | Medical University of the Americas (MUA) Nevis | 28 | 12-03-2003 07:56 PM |
| I don't want to believe this but please say these facts are | raina | Spartan Medical School | 15 | 11-21-2003 04:54 PM |
| This link was so interesting........ | Rwl22 | Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum | 10 | 09-27-2003 07:04 PM |
International Foreign and Caribbean medical schools,
ValueMD provides information on medical education from premed to residency