Sponsored Links
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    George Brown is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    American International University & Royal College of Physic

    Greetings all,

    Just wondering if anyone on this forum knew anything about this entity:

    American International University & Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of the United States of America - http://www.amintu.com

    Email correspondence suggests that American International University is an official licensee of American University in Washington, DC and has been signed by one Martin H Savitz MD PhD, who claims to be Dean of AIU

    Any background information would be most welcome.

    Cheers,

    George
    George Brown
    Director
    HigherEd Consulting (Australasia)
    Hidden Content

  2. #2
    blueeyes's Avatar
    blueeyes is offline Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    257
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    pretty misleading

    Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of the United States? Hmmmph. Unless the US has recently been inondated by a wave of beaming monarchists, I'm guessing this group is not what it purports to be.

    In a number of Commonwealth countries there's a government body with a similar title (e.g. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada) that establishes and maintains standards for postgraduate medical education, among other things. I'm sure there's a similar government body in the US but I am equally sure you won't find the word "Royal" anywhere in its name. (The last time I checked, the US wasn't a constitutional monarchy.)

    (Wasn't George Washington supposed to have turned down an invitation to become King of the US? And I don't think there's been any talk of Kings or Queens of the US ever since.)

    The whole thing smacks of elitism and a misguided notion that anything British and "royal" should turn off any synapses that would normally recognize this for what it is: an attempt to lure people to spend money on on-line dipilomas.

    The above is just my initial impression and maybe there's something about this group that I'm overlooking. But come on--Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of the US. That's just...funny.
    The trouble with the rat race is that even if you win you're still a rat.
    --Lilly Tomlin

  3. #3
    azskeptic's Avatar
    azskeptic is offline Moderator 548 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,667
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: American International University & Royal College of Physic

    Quote Originally Posted by George Brown
    Greetings all,

    Just wondering if anyone on this forum knew anything about this entity:

    American International University & Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of the United States of America - http://www.amintu.com

    Email correspondence suggests that American International University is an official licensee of American University in Washington, DC and has been signed by one Martin H Savitz MD PhD, who claims to be Dean of AIU

    Any background information would be most welcome.

    Cheers,

    George
    First off ROyal College of Physicians and all of the other 'organizations' that this group has are not recognized by abms or any other officially recognized medical groups. THis is diploma mill city you are dealing with. Look at his links at:

    http://www.valuemd.com/medschool/usm...www.amintu.com

    ask the folks at http://forums.degreeinfo.com/ about it. I've seen some articles about this 'organization' there before.
    Moderator - State Licensing Forum

    Still skeptical after all these years.
    This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  4. #4
    George Brown is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    From degreeinfo

    Thanks. I am from Degreeinfo, but we mere mortals in that forum have no background in medical school licensing/ accreditation etc. What is the best way to verify the authenticity/ legitimacy of this institution?

    Cheers,

    George
    George Brown
    Director
    HigherEd Consulting (Australasia)
    Hidden Content

  5. #5
    azskeptic's Avatar
    azskeptic is offline Moderator 548 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,667
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: From degreeinfo

    Quote Originally Posted by George Brown
    Thanks. I am from Degreeinfo, but we mere mortals in that forum have no background in medical school licensing/ accreditation etc. What is the best way to verify the authenticity/ legitimacy of this institution?

    Cheers,

    George
    The recognized boards are at:

    http://www.abms.org/default.asp

    I ran a quick 'scan' of those MD's and think you may not find many licenses themselves amongst them. You can check licensed at:

    http://www.docboard.org/docfinder.html
    Moderator - State Licensing Forum

    Still skeptical after all these years.
    This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  6. #6
    warrior is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    57
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: From degreeinfo

    [quote="George Brown"] I am from Degreeinfo.


    What, may I ask, is "degreeinfo?" Is that a medical evaluator, a country, a company or what?????? Seems like you mean degree-info, but can't be sure. How are you or your company medically related?


  7. #7
    blueeyes's Avatar
    blueeyes is offline Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    257
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    degreeinfo

    What, may I ask, is "degreeinfo?"
    It's probably http://www.degreeinfo.com/

    I think it's legitimate.
    The trouble with the rat race is that even if you win you're still a rat.
    --Lilly Tomlin

  8. #8
    azskeptic's Avatar
    azskeptic is offline Moderator 548 points
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,667
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: degreeinfo

    Quote Originally Posted by blueeyes
    What, may I ask, is "degreeinfo?"
    It's probably http://www.degreeinfo.com/

    I think it's legitimate.
    people like Dr. John Bear and the above George Brown are leaders in looking at diploma mills,etc. degreeinfo.com is sort of the valuemd of that industry.
    Moderator - State Licensing Forum

    Still skeptical after all these years.
    This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  9. #9
    warrior is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    57
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    thankx

    azkpetic.......thanks.
    blue-eyes, yes it does look legit and more so if azkeptic says so.

    ok, george is legit.

  10. #10
    Stewie's Avatar
    Stewie is offline Member 510 points
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    182
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: pretty misleading

    Quote Originally Posted by blueeyes
    Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of the United States? Hmmmph. Unless the US has recently been inondated by a wave of beaming monarchists, I'm guessing this group is not what it purports to be.

    That's a classic response!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2011, 10:42 AM
  2. AIMU American International Medical University
    By medstudent9999 in forum Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 11:42 PM
  3. International American University is listening.
    By IAU in forum International American University (IAU)
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 09:34 PM
  4. fyi: International American University, St. Lucia
    By dt in forum Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 07:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Site Meter