International Student InsuranceValueMD Sponsor
Home Forum Books Links Album Residency USMLE PreMed


Caribbean Medical Schools European Medical Schools Foreign Medical Schools Medical Resources
Go Back   ValueMD Medical Schools Forum > INTERNATIONAL MEDICAL SCHOOLS MAIN FORUM > Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2004, 07:50 PM
azskeptic's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5,782
fake med school website

so if you look at this you might be impressed:

http://www.kusm.info/medicine/index.htm



but this would make you less impressed


http://www.goasiapacific.com/news/Go...NP_1072311.htm

Solomons medical school saga takes new twist

In Solomon Islands, the non-government organisation, the People First Network, has lodged a formal complaint over a website purporting to advertise a local medical university.

Sean Dorney reports the organisation claims photographs used on the site have been stolen from its website:

"In lodging the formal complaint, the Technical Advisor to the People First Network, David Leeming, says the website appears to be advertising for prospective students to pay fees in advance to attend a fictitious medical university. He says that the company, which calls itself Kings University, does have approval from the Solomon Islands Investment Board to start such a venture. However, it has no infrastructure at all despite showing photographs of buildings unrelated to the venture, including the one PF Net operates from. Mr Leeming tells Melbourne IT the website gives the impression that there is already a university in place whereas the only operating address as yet is a hotel. He alleges that almost every photograph of the Solomons on the site has been stolen from the PF Net's own website. He says PF Net asked Kings University to remove the photos but it hadn't received a response. "

24/03/2004 05:25:16 | ABC Radio Australia News

But FAIMER has it listed.

So which is it: Is this a legit medical school or not?

azskeptic
__________________
Moderator - State Licensing Forum

Still skeptical after all these years.
This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

http://www.internetmedicalschool.homestead.com

http://www.chiropractormds.homestead.com/index.html
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2004, 07:54 PM
azskeptic's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5,782
Re: fake med school website

Quote:
Originally Posted by azskeptic
so if you look at this you might be impressed:

http://www.kusm.info/medicine/index.htm



but this would make you less impressed


http://www.goasiapacific.com/news/Go...NP_1072311.htm

Solomons medical school saga takes new twist

In Solomon Islands, the non-government organisation, the People First Network, has lodged a formal complaint over a website purporting to advertise a local medical university.

Sean Dorney reports the organisation claims photographs used on the site have been stolen from its website:

"In lodging the formal complaint, the Technical Advisor to the People First Network, David Leeming, says the website appears to be advertising for prospective students to pay fees in advance to attend a fictitious medical university. He says that the company, which calls itself Kings University, does have approval from the Solomon Islands Investment Board to start such a venture. However, it has no infrastructure at all despite showing photographs of buildings unrelated to the venture, including the one PF Net operates from. Mr Leeming tells Melbourne IT the website gives the impression that there is already a university in place whereas the only operating address as yet is a hotel. He alleges that almost every photograph of the Solomons on the site has been stolen from the PF Net's own website. He says PF Net asked Kings University to remove the photos but it hadn't received a response. "

24/03/2004 05:25:16 | ABC Radio Australia News

But FAIMER has it listed.

So which is it: Is this a legit medical school or not?

azskeptic
Faimer says it is legit

The Ministry of Health and Medical Services, Solomon Islands, has confirmed to FAIMER by letter dated June 17, 2004 that King's University School of Medicine is recognized by the government of Solomon Islands, and that the university has been awarded "all necessary approvals and recognitions."

hmmmm...someone is confused. azskeptic
__________________
Moderator - State Licensing Forum

Still skeptical after all these years.
This is it. There are no hidden meanings.WYSIWYG

http://www.internetmedicalschool.homestead.com

http://www.chiropractormds.homestead.com/index.html
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To all distant learning medical students...... soon2bMS The Relaxing Lounge 28 03-25-2008 01:24 AM
St.Luke school of medicine graduates denied lisence by LMB drdetective Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum 1 03-31-2005 12:22 PM
Transfers ckleather Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum 8 05-14-2004 10:04 PM
A story about Spartan in the Ct Newspaper today azskeptic Spartan Medical School 5 12-15-2003 04:16 PM
Network54 Main Forum Page 10 Hanson Network54 Archives 0 02-15-2003 06:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2003-2008 ValueMD, LLC. All rights reserved.
Home About Privacy Contact us Disclaimer Site Map Advertise

Site Meter

International Foreign and Caribbean medical schools,
ValueMD provides information on medical education from premed to residency