International Student InsuranceValueMD Sponsor
Home Forum Books Links Album Residency USMLE PreMed


Caribbean Medical Schools European Medical Schools Foreign Medical Schools Medical Resources
Go Back   ValueMD Medical Schools Forum > INTERNATIONAL MEDICAL SCHOOLS MAIN FORUM > Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
American Medical University

I have found the staff at American Medical University to be extremely professional. They answered all my questions and their price is great! I just finished an orientation with them and have found their program to be the finest so far....I think my search has ended.

American Medical University

They also have a wonderful nursing program through their nursing college. My sister is looking into American Nuring Institute.

http://www.americannursinginstitute.com/

I am looking into a program where I can complete my medical training while keeping my present job. I am very interested in doing my training online. American Medical University gave me a outstanding demonstration and I can say that I am now a believer of online training!

Please send any recommendations to me of online medical training programs. I am ready to get started!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 768
Under which country is this school listed in IMED (the starting point for U.S. licensure)?
__________________
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better."
Samuel Beckett, "Worstward Ho", 1983
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 04:32 PM
dt dt is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,725
American Medical University is not listed on IMED. Even its "core member" George Dewey Medical College is not listed.

Its website states "AMU was founded in 1992 with the goal of combining two distinct learning environments - online and the traditional bricks and mortar." With 15 years of existence, the website is very sparse on any concrete, verifable information.



I dont think it's possible to get licensed via this "university".

Any licensed grads from this school during the last 15 years?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 768
See here for the fun we had on an earlier thread with this school's marketing - http://www.valuemd.com/main-foreign-...tml#post616515
__________________
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better."
Samuel Beckett, "Worstward Ho", 1983

Last edited by diogenes; 10-23-2007 at 05:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 05:43 PM
Permanently Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by cathycarroll View Post
II am very interested in doing my training online. American Medical University gave me a outstanding demonstration and I can say that I am now a believer of online training!
I though online basic science curriculum wasn't approved by many states and will prevent liscensure? Maybe I'm wrong.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 839
another advertisement pretending to be a poster.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2007, 04:55 PM
kemper6036's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: nor cal...now SXM
Posts: 4,894
yea....a school with a website ending in .com rather than .edu already started raising red flags
__________________
AUC 5th Semester
Undergrad: UC Riverside
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2007, 05:51 PM
MDXRS22's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,492
Blog Entries: 1
Dot com??? OK, let me take the sail and bail out quick.

I will open my own soon, and it will be DOT biz.
__________________
Something that bothers you, just flush it off and wipe the remaining patiently. RS-Stanislas
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 103
fwiw, essentially no international medical school and nearly no academic institution outside the United States that doesn't already have a .edu address will ever have one, unless the present rules are changed.

EDUCAUSE, the agency that manages the .edu domain under contract to the U.S. Department of Commerce, now enforces rules restricting memberships to post-secondary "US institutions" accredited by an agency on the U.S. Department of Education's list of nationally recognized accreditation agencies. .edu Eligibility FAQ.

Older registrants of .edu domains who would not meet the new criteria are grandfathered in. Some are legitimate schools outside the U.S. like sgu.edu, rossu.edu, aucmed.edu and saba.edu, some are high schools, some aren't educational institutions at all, and a few may be diploma mills.

So we will have to get used to new or newly-registering international schools, and schools in the U.S. too new to be accredited yet, using top-level domains names other than .edu.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2008, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Amu/gma - Sounds Like ** To Me

I contacted WHO and they were not listed. Basically, I believe they will offer the courses, but what good is an MD if you can't be licensed anywhere? I called the admissions office (one person) and they couldn't answer my questions; e.g., email addresses of alumni. They just told me to hurry and send my money so I could get accepted. If you talk with Brown University and ivimeds.org who are working on online medical education they will tell you to beware of any "schools" claiming to offer a complete MD Program online.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 match!!! Dr E Ross University School of Medicine 30 09-15-2006 01:34 AM
Training Needs Of International Medical Graduates azskeptic Asian Medical Schools 0 02-28-2005 05:53 PM
AAIMG is Bogus!!! Beaker Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum 9 01-10-2004 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2003-2008 ValueMD, LLC. All rights reserved.
Home About Privacy Contact us Disclaimer Site Map Advertise

Site Meter

International Foreign and Caribbean medical schools,
ValueMD provides information on medical education from premed to residency